Atlanta Rhythm Section "Red Tape"

Today’s “Cool Album of the Day” is Atlanta Rhythm Section, “Red Tape.”

Kind of a forgotten band here. Atlanta Rhythm Section was all over the radio in the late 70’s early 80’s. ‘Red Tape” was a little before that.

This album was released in 1976. Some of the best tracks were ‘Jukin/San Antonio Rose, Free Spirit’ and especially ‘Mixed Emotions.’

Recorded in Doraville, Georgia and released on Polygram, “Red Tape” peaked at #146 on the Billboard Top 200 Charts while the only single to chart, ‘Free Spirit’ reached #85.

Track listing

  1. “Jukin’/San Antonio Rose” (Buie, Nix, Wills) – 3:43
  2. “Mixed Emotions” (Buie, Cobb, Nix) – 3:20
  3. “Shanghaied” (Buie, Cobb, Nix) – 2:14
  4. “Police! Police!” (Buie, Cobb, Nix) – 3:11
  5. “Beautiful Dreamers” (Buie, Cobb, Nix) – 3:26
  6. “Oh What a Feeling” (Bailey, Buie, Nix) – 2:39
  7. “Free Spirit” (Buie, Hammond, Nix) – 3:35
  8. “Another Man’s Woman” (Bailey, Buie, Daughtry, Nix) – 9:47


  • Barry Bailey – guitar
  • Buddy Buie – vocals
  • J.R. Cobb – guitar, background vocals
  • Dean Daughtry – keyboards
  • Paul Goddard – bass
  • Ronnie Hammond – vocals, background vocals
  • Robert Nix – percussion, drums, background vocals

Posted by Larry Carta

Leave a Reply

Before you post, please prove you are sentient.

what is 5 plus 4?