Electric Light Orchestra “Face The Music”

Posted 23 May 2011 in 70s, Albums of 1975, Albums of the 70s, Rock + Roll

Today’s Cool Album of the Day (#383in the Series) is Electric Light Orchestra, Face the Music

Today Jeff Lynne and his band Electric Light Orchestra make their first appearance on Cool Album of the Day. They do so with one of their most popular album, Face the Music.

Face the Musicwas released in 1975 and reached as high as #8 on the Billboard Top 200 Album chart. It spent 48 weeks in the top 200. No singles charted on the Hot 100 chart, but many were well known album rock cuts. The most well-known probably being “Evil Woman” or “Strand Magic.”

This was their first album recorded at Musicland in Munich Germany. That studio would become the studio of choice for Jeff Lynne for many years.

Jeff wrote everything on this album. That wouldn’t be the only time we’d make that statement about an ELO album.

The album opens with the mostly instrumental “Fire on High.” You’ll remember that there were some backwards vocals on the track. Those words were from drummer Bev Bevan.  Later it was told that he was saying, “The music is reversible, but time is not. Turn back. Turn back. Turn back. Turn back.”  Yeah, all those years you wondered.  You probably thought it was something more interesting.

There is an interesting piece of trivia about the album. One of the uncredited background vocalists was Ellie Greenwich.  Ellie was one of the best songwriters of her era. She wrote such hits as “Be My Baby”, “Leader of  the Back”,” Do Wah Ditty” and “River Deep, Mountain High” She’s also credited on discovering another Tin Pan Alley songwriter, Neil Diamond.

Track listing

All songs written and composed by Jeff Lynne.

Side one

  1. “Fire on High” 5:29
  2. “Waterfall”  4:11
  3. “Evil Woman” 4:34
  4. “Nightrider”  4:22

Side two

  1. “Poker”  3:31
  2. “Strange Magic” 4:29
  3. “Down Home Town” 3:54
  4. “One Summer Dream”  5:47


  • Jeff Lynne – vocals, guitar, producer
  • Bev Bevan – drums, percussion, spoken intro (backwards), vocals
  • Richard Tandy – piano, clavinet, moog, guitar
  • Kelly Groucutt – bass, vocals
  • Mik Kaminski – violin
  • Hugh McDowell – cello
  • Melvyn Gale – cello
  • Ellie Greenwich – uncredited vocals
  • Susan Collins – uncredited vocals
  • Nancy O’Neill – uncredited vocals
  • Margaret Raymond – uncredited vocals


Back to the Cool Album of the Day Home Page

Posted by Larry Carta

Leave a Reply

Before you post, please prove you are sentient.

what is 4 in addition to 3?