Uriah Heep “Live”

Today’s Cool Album of the Day (#1031 in the Series ) is Uriah Heep, Live

Back in the mid-seventies, one of my friends had a “neat” drum kit in his attic. He and and a few other  friends would pound away on it. At that point I had taken some lessons so I knew a little bit of what I was doing. We had a stereo up there as well.  If memory serves me correct, it was a two story unit apartment house type of thing with maybe one person living in-between. So we could make a ton of noise up there and no one cared, and we did.

We’d get some of our favorite albums and try and play along with them. I think we had Styx II (They were from our neighborhood so that was a must.) We also tried to play along with Carl Palmer from the three disc live album. Oh yeah, THAT made a lot of sense!!! We also used to play along with Lee Kerslake on Uriah Heep, Live!

We were really pretty much just hacking away, but we had a blast.

I was a huge Uriah Heep fan.  This album had it all. The big hits from Demons and Wizards were there including, “Easy Livin,” ”Traveller in Time”and “Circle of Hands.”   Other biggies on the disc included,”July Morning,” “Sweet Lorraine” and the opener “Sunrise.”

I loved these 1970s hard rock bands that were led by the Hammond B3 organ. You just don’t get that sound any more. There was something so cool about those acts, Heep of course and even more so, Deep Purple. Going back a little earlier you had Vanilla Fudge as well.

Be sure to check out the lengthy medley that ends that album. This was not on some of the earlier versions. They do a great job on some of those classics. I’ve included it in the video playlist. The one I have is a little different but still good.

— Larry Carta

Track listing

  1. “Sunrise” (3:50)
  2. “Sweet Lorraine” (4:27)
  3. “Traveller in Time (3:20)
  4. “Easy Livin'” (2:43)
  5. “July Morning” (11:23)
  6. “Tears in My Eyes” (4:34)
  7. “Gypsy” (13:32)
  8. “Circle of Hands” (8:47)
  9. “Look at Yourself” (7:29)
  10. “The Magician’s Birthday” (1:15)
  11. “Love Machine” (3:07)
  12. “Rock ‘n’ Roll Medley: Roll Over Beethoven / Blue Suede Shoes / Mean Woman Blues / Hound Dog / At The Hop / Whole Lotta Shakin’ Goin’ On” (8:17)


  • David Byron – vocals
  • Mick Box – guitar, vocals
  • Ken Hensley – keyboards, vocals
  • Gary Thain – bass guitar, vocals
  • Lee Kerslake – drums, vocals


Back to the Cool Album of the Day Home Page

Posted by Larry Carta

Leave a Reply

Before you post, please prove you are sentient.

what is 9 + 2?