Haircut 100 “Pelican West”

Today’s Cool Album of the Day (#403 in the Series) is Haircut 100, Pelican West.

I’ve long been a Nick Heyward fan.  I absolutely love his North of a Miracle album.

Haircut 100 is where he started.  They also released some excellent music.

Their years lasted basically from about 1980 thru 1984 that was it except a couple reunion projects around 2004 and again recently.  They only had two album, this one, Pelican West was released in 1982 and Paint and Paint in 1984. Nick left the band after Pelican West and doesn’t appear on the follow up. It showed too.

Their only top 40 US hit was on Pelican West that would be of course, “Love Plus One.”  The album peaked at #31.

“Love Plus One” was the biggest AM hit, but the best song was the AOR hit, “Favorite Shirts (Boy Meets Girl).”

One of the things I liked about much of the pop music in the early 80s was the liberal use of saxophone.  Saxophone and brass in general are what really makes some of this stuff, especially “Favorite Shirts.”

The American release of this album was different from that overseas.  Here, the first two singles were placed back to back right at the top.  I remember hearing someone once say, “If you look at an album that you’re thinking of buying, and the only song you know is the first track on the album, don’t buy it!”  That actually was some decent advice, but here I knew two songs, so we’d still have been OK.

The third single was “Fanstastic Day. “It’s another good track that didn’t do as well as the first two at least here.

While this album had so so success here, it was a huge hit in the UK where four songs made the top ten. They would be the three we’ve mentioned and “Nobody’s Fool.”  The album hit #2 there.

Track listing

  1. “Favourite Shirts (Boy Meets Girl)” – 3:05
  2. “Love Plus One” – 3:33
  3. “Lemon Firebrigade” – 3:54
  4. “Marine Boy” – 3:28
  5. “Milk Farm” – 2:56
  6. “Kingsize (You’re My Little Steam Whistle)” – 4:23
  7. “Fantastic Day” – 3:13
  8. “Baked Bean” – 4:02
  9. “Snow Girl” – 2:56
  10. “Love’s Got Me in Triangles” – 3:36
  11. “Surprise Me Again” – 3:17
  12. “Calling Captain Autumn” – 4:02


  • Nick Heyward – vocals, guitar.
  • Les Nemes –  bass.
  • Graham Jones – guitar
  • Patrick David Hunt – drums
  • Phil Smith –  saxophone
  • Marc Fox – Percussion, vocals
  • Blair Cunningham – – drums


Back to Cool Album of the Day Home Page

Posted by Larry Carta


  1. tom kraus (14 Jun 2011, 18:59)

    ah no not this one

  2. coachmaddog (15 Jun 2011, 8:52)

    This one’s a bit light in the loafers. Vampire Weekend before there was a Vampire Weekend.

Leave a Reply

Before you post, please prove you are sentient.

what is 7 in addition to 5?