Ian Hunter “You’re Never Alone with a Schizophrenic”

Posted 04 Jul 2011 in 70s, Albums of 1979, Albums of the 70s, Rock + Roll

Today’s Cool Album of the Day (#424 in the Series) is Ian Hunter, You’re Never Alone with a Schizophrenic

Remember when ABC ran “In Concert” every weekend? Midnight Special” was on as well.  There was one band that I could swear that was on every week. They were on so often that I really started not liking them, they of course were Mott the Hoople.  Yup, every week I’d turn it on and sure enough, there would be this goofy looking band with a guy or two wearing these strange looking boots.

I was young and didn’t know much about them. As I got slightly older I got to like the band as I actually started listening to the music.  Now I WANTED to see them on television and of course, it was too late.  I missed the boat.

Luckily, Mr. Ian Hunter still was putting out music. His solo career was actually quite successful from the start. The first song on his first album was “Once Bitten, Twice Shy.”  If I wanted to use a great cliché here I’d say something like …”and he never looked back.” The album hit #50.

The follow up All American Alien Boy didn’t do as well (#177) and the next effort, Overnight Angles didn’t even chart.  In fact it wasn’t even released here in the US. It did include a song called “England Rocks.” As you know, that song would bring a little tweak on the next album. .

Now we’re up to 1979.  A few changes were made. Gone was Ian’s manager and gone was his affiliation with CBS Records.  Chrysalis is now home.

Those changes might not have been the biggest changes either. The biggest might have been his reunion with Hoople member Mick Ronson. Mick helped produce You’re Never Alone with a Schizophrenic with Ian. It considered by many to be his best solo album.

That tweak was made and now England Rocks became the hit, Cleveland Rocks.  The other hit song on the disc was Just Another Night, co-written by Mick Ronson.

Ian brought in a new band for this album as well. You might know some of the names.  Max Weinberg was on drums, Roy Bittan on organ, Garry Tallent on bass.  You know them from the E-Street Band. A couple more familiar names on the album were John Cale (Velvet Underground, keys on “Bastard”) and Ellen Foley (Meat Loaf, background vocals.)

“When The Daylight Comes “ is also another superb track.  If you had a cool FM station near you in 1979 you’ll know it.

If you’re looking for this album please note that there was a re-release that featured some great bonus tracks including live recordings of some of Ian classics such as “Sons and Daughters “and the David Bowie written “All the Young Dudes.”

— Larry Carta (Dedicating it to a special lady in Milwaukee)

Track Listing

All tracks written by Ian Hunter except where noted.

Side one

  1. “Just Another Night” (Hunter, Mick Ronson) – 4:36
  2. “Wild East” – 3:58
  3. “Cleveland Rocks” – 3:48
  4. “Ships” – 4:11
  5. “When the Daylight Comes” – 4:27

Side two

  1. “Life After Death” – 3:49
  2. “Standing in my Light” – 4:35
  3. “Bastard” – 6:37
  4. “The Outsider” – 5:57


  • Ian Hunter – lead vocals, guitar, piano, Moog, ARP, organ, harmony vocals, percussion
  • Mick Ronson – guitars, dual lead vocals on “When the Daylight Comes”, harmony vocals, percussion
  • Roy Bittan – ARP, organ, Moog, piano, harmony vocals
  • Max Weinberg – drums
  • Garry Tallent – bass
  • John Cale – piano & ARP on “Bastard”
  • George Young – tenor sax
  • Lew Delgatto – baritone sax
  • Ellen Foley – harmony vocals
  • Rory Dodd – harmony vocals
  • Eric Bloom – harmony vocals


Ian Hunter Official Website

More Cool Albums that we’ve featured from 1979

Back to the Cool Album Official Website

Posted by Larry Carta

1 Comment

  1. coachmaddog (05 Jul 2011, 21:51)

    Ab so lute ly BRILLIANT!

Leave a Reply

Before you post, please prove you are sentient.

what is 3 plus 4?