Ultravox “Monument”

Today’s Cool Album of the Day (#449 in the Series and #43 in the Live, Saturday Night Series) is Ultravox, Monument

This album is a little different than most of the live albums that we feature here at the ol’ Cool Album-a-roo…   Monument was released first as a video.  Later on it was turned into a live EP.   Then came along a more extended version and now we have a true live album.  I guess this was done with The Cure once or twice as well too.

They then released the video onto a DVD format and then released the album again. I’ve listed a bunch of the different combinations below. Don’t worry, there’s no quiz or anything.

All of this was taken from a 1982 concert held at the Hammersmith Odeon in London. The band was on tour for their very popular album, Quartet. This was the one with “Reap The Wild Wind.” Quartet was produced by the great George Martin.

Not a ton of people remember that Ultravox went thru a ton of changes before they got to the, (for the lack of a better term) “the Midge Ure era.”  If you don’t know the earlier stuff, check that out as well. The “John Foxx” era is quite good too.

Yes, you’ll find “Reap the Wild Wind” here as well.  Some other classics, “The Voice”,” Passing Strangers”, “Hymn” and their all-time track, “Vienna.”

This is a great representation of the later Ultravox era. I encourage you to try and get your paws on it.

 — Larry Carta

Track listing

All songs written by Midge Ure, Billy Currie, Chris Cross and Warren Cann.

Original tracklisting from UK first release

Side A

  1. “Monument” – 3:15
  2. “Reap the Wild Wind” [Live] – 4:11
  3. “The Voice” [Live] – 6:54

Side B

  1. “Vienna” [Live] – 5:24
  2. “Mine For Life” [Live] – 4:40
  3. “Hymn” [Live] – 5:40

tracklisting from 1999 UK CD re-issue:

  1. “Monument” – 3:15
  2. “Reap the Wild Wind” [Live] – 4:10
  3. “Visions In Blue” [Live] – 4:38
  4. “The Voice” [Live] – 6:51
  5. “Vienna” [Live] – 5:23
  6. “Passing Strangers” [Live] – 5:28
  7. “Mine For Life” [Live] – 4:25
  8. “Hymn” [Live] – 5:40

CD tracklisting from 2009 UK CD/DVD re-issue:

  1. “Monument” – 3:15
  2. “Reap the Wild Wind” [Live] – 4:10
  3. “Visions In Blue” [Live] – 4:41
  4. “The Voice” [Live] – 6:50
  5. “Vienna” [Live] – 5:23
  6. “Passing Strangers” [Live] – 5:12
  7. “Mine For Life” [Live] – 4:38
  8. “Hymn” [Live] – 5:46
  9. “The Song (We Go) [Live] – 5:12”

DVD tracklisting from 2009 UK CD/DVD re-issue:

  1. “Introduction”
  2. “Reap The Wild Wind [Live]”
  3. “The Voice [Live]”
  4. “Vienna [Live]”
  5. “Mine For Life [Live]”
  6. “Hymn [Live]”
  7. “End Credits”

credits Ultravox (Main Performer) John Hudson (Producer) Brian Cooke (Photography)


  • Chris Cross – bass, synthesizer, backing vocals
  • Warren Cann – drums, backing vocals
  • Billy Currie – keyboards, violin
  • Midge Ure – guitar, lead vocals


Posted by Larry Carta


  1. coachmaddog (29 Jul 2011, 23:03)

    They didn’t include Sleepwalk? For shame! Top band, though.

  2. Larry Carta (29 Jul 2011, 23:22)

    Yup, that should have been a ‘5FMmust include’ song I think too

Leave a Reply

Before you post, please prove you are sentient.

what is 5 + 6?