Nick Lowe "Labour of Lust"

Posted 29 Sep 2010 in 70s, Albums of 1979, Albums of the 70s, Pop, Power Pop

Today’s Cool Album of the Day (#153 in the Series) is Nick Lowe, Labour of Lust.

When you’re in a crappy mood there is nothing better than popping on a good ol’ Nick Lowe disc!

We already did Rockpile about four months ago.  Rockpile was, of course, the joint effort of Nick Lowe and Dave Edmunds.  This was Nick on his own.  Well supposedly it was.  However, even though it’s a Nick Lowe album, the band lineup is the same as the Rockpile album. Nick on bass, Dave Edmunds on guitar, Billy Bremmer on guitar and Terry Williams on drums.  Elvis Costello added harp to American Squirm.

There are 11 tracks totaling 33 minutes of music here.  Or as one of my friends says, Get to the point, get it done and get onto the next song!’

The first song was probably the song that Nick Lowe was most identified by. Cruel to be Kind.  A great ditty as we would say.  It was written by Nick and here’s a name you might have forgotten, Ian Gomm!

You may have also heard such songs as Cracking Up, Big Kick, Plain Scrap, Born Fighter and of course, Switchboard Susan.

Labour of Lust was released in 1979 and produced by Nick Lowe.

The album did not chart in the USA even though Cruel to be Kind hit number 12 on the Billboard Singles Chart.
Fun Stuff!


  • Nick Lowe – bass and vocals
  • Dave Edmunds – rhythm and solo guitars and backing vocals
  • Billy Bremner – rhythm and solo guitars and backing vocals
  • Terry Williams – drums

Additional personnel

  • Huey Lewis – harmonica on “Born Fighter”
  • Bob Andrews – Oberheim on “Endless Grey Ribbon”
  • Elvis Costello – backing vocals on “American Squirm”
  • Bruce Thomas – bass on “American Squirm”
  • Pete Thomas – drums on “American Squirm”
  • Roger Bechirian – Tape Engineer

Track Listing

Side One

  1. “Cruel to Be Kind” (Lowe, Ian Gomm) – 3:31
  2. “Cracking Up” – 2:59
  3. “Big Kick, Plain Scrap!” – 2:28
  4. “American Squirm” – 2:29
  5. “You Make Me” – 1:53
  6. “Skin Deep” – 3:12

Side Two

  1. “Switchboard Susan” (Mickey Jupp) – 3:50
  2. “Dose of You” – 2:21
  3. “Without Love” – 2:29
  4. “Born Fighter” – 3:09
  5. “Love So Fine” (Lowe, Dave Edmunds, Billy Bremner, Terry Williams) – 3:52


Here’s the original promotional video.  Look for ‘then wife’ the lovely Carlene Carter!

Posted by Larry Carta

Leave a Reply

Before you post, please prove you are sentient.

what is 2 + 5?