Rory Gallagher “Irish Tour ’74”

Posted 16 Sep 2011 in 70s, Albums of 1974, Albums of the 70s, Blues-Rock, Live

Today’s Cool Album of the Day (#497 in the Series) is Rory Gallagher, Irish Tour ’74.

On top of the list there’s Jimi Hendrix. Look up anything on the genre of blues-rock bands, blues-rock music etc. and that’s who’s always at the top. Cast your eyes down a notch. Just a bit, not far, not far at all and you’ll land on Irish guitarist extraordinaire, Rory Gallagher.  If for some reason, you landed on Stevie Ray Vaughan’s name first, well then cast your eyes upward. Why, because in every way, Rory Gallagher’s name is listed above. It’s not even close. SRV should not be even mentioned in the same breath with this man.

When I’m trying to decide on which live album to feature I often look around and see which albums I see mentioned quite often.  Much more than not, I see Rory’s Irish Tour ’74 written about as being one of the best. 1974 was a great year for him to release this as well. He was absolutely on top of his game at that point. He would often visit this market back around that time.

He often would tour as a blues power trio. This album was recorded during a period when he also had a piano player in his band.  From ’72 to ’76 his band was Lou Martin (Piano), Gerry McAvoy (bass) and  Rod de’Ath (drums).

This album was recorded in Northern Ireland during a time when not many acts would tour his home country. The recordings were taken from shows at Belfast Ulster Hall, Dublin Carlton Cinema and Cork City Hall.

Many of the same shows were filmed for a live television special. Director Tony Palmer was so happy with the footage that he eventually released this as a motion picture. Find it if you can.

— Larry Carta

Track listing

All tracks composed by Rory Gallagher unless stated.

  1. “Cradle Rock” – 7:38
  2. “I Wonder Who” (Morganfield) – 7:52
  3. “Tattoo’d Lady” – 5:04
  4. “Too Much Alcohol” (J. B. Hutto) – 8:30
  5. “As the Crow Flies” (Tony Joe White) – 6:02
  6. “A Million Miles Away” – 9:29
  7. “Walk on Hot Coals” – 11:13
  8. “Who’s That Coming?” – 10:05
  9. “Back on My Stompin’ Ground (After Hours)” – 5:18
  10. “Maritime” – 0:33


  • Rory Gallagher – vocals, guitar, harmonica
  • Gerry McAvoy – bass guitar
  • Lou Martin – keyboards
  • Rod de’Ath – drums, percussion

Here’s the Irish Tour Documentary.

Posted by Larry Carta


  1. 79deadman (18 Sep 2011, 14:17)

    Great BLOG!!!!
    Nice reviews and very competent writer! Congratulations!!


  2. coachmaddog (18 Sep 2011, 17:40)

    My favorite guitar player ever. Outstanding singer as well. I wish that I’d reviewed this.

Leave a Reply

Before you post, please prove you are sentient.

what is 6 plus 2?