Merle Haggard "I Am What I Am"

Posted 06 Mar 2016 in 00s, Albums of the 00s, Country, Swing

Today’s Cool Album of the Day (#959 in the Series) is Merle Haggard, I Am What I Am.

I was REAL late coming to the Merle Haggard appreciation society.  I’ve loved traditional country for many years.  But for some reason Merle slid though the cracks for me.

That changed due to his classic song, “Sing Me Back Home.”  About five years ago I started noticing all these artist I really respected had covered it. The Grateful Dead, Flying Burrito Brothers, Heartfield, Gram Parsons and Keith Richards together, The Everly Brothers, etc etc. I had to look in on it.  Then I started checking out all these old albums and wow.  I sure missed quite a bit.

Instead of featuring one of those classics albums, I’m going to go right to the end of the list. His most current. I Am What I Am was one of my favorite albums of 2009.

There are absolutely some wonderful songs on this album.  I’m going to attach two videos.  I challenge you to listen to them and tell me they are not a couple of great songs.  Merle fans know this already.  The challenge is more aimed at those that are thinking, What the hell is he doing!

This also gives me a chance to bitch at country radio. They didn’t touch this work. But they continue to pollute the airways to lazy pop music that they pawn off as country just because as an afterthought a fiddle or pedal steel was added.

Merle hasn’t won a country award since 1982.  He hasn’t had a #1 hit since 1987.  Thanks country radio.

— Larry Carta 

Track listing

All songs written by Merle Haggard except where noted.

  1. “I’ve Seen It Go Away” – 3:00
  2. “Pretty When It’s New” – 3:12
  3. “Oil Tanker Train” – 3:02
  4. “Live and Love Always” – 2:30
  5. “The Road to My Heart” (Freddy Powers) – 2:50
  6. “How Did You Find Me Here” (M. Haggard, Theresa Lane Haggard) – 3:55
  7. “We’re Falling in Love Again” – 3:31
  8. “Bad Actor” (Doug Colosio, M. Haggard, Scott Joss) – 3:28
  9. “Down at the End of the Road” – 3:10
  10. “Stranger in the City” – 2:09
  11. “Mexican Bands” – 3:27
  12. “I Am What I Am” – 2:38

Merle Haggard Website

Give it a listen below… Pure joy

Ya’ll stick around and check these out too!

[jcarousel source=”cat=8″ link=”permalink” size=”100×100″ limit=”100″ items=”4″ speed=”400″ margin=”10″]


Posted by Larry Carta

Leave a Reply

Before you post, please prove you are sentient.

what is 8 in addition to 8?