Robin Trower "Bridge of Sighs"

Today’s Cool Album Of The Day (#155 in the Series) is Robin Trower, Bridge of Sighs.

Bridge of Sighs was Robin Trower’s gigantic breakthrough album.

He was in Procol Harem until 1972.  This was Robin’s second solo album and it was released in 1974. It contained many of the songs that people to this day consider the highlights to his catalog. The title cut, “Bridge of Sighs” and “Day of the Eagle” top that list. However, do not overlook “Too Rolling Stoned.”  That was a rock radio standard as well.

Robin Trower toured recorded and toured as a three piece back in this era.  His bassist/vocalist was James Dewar.  Reg Isidore was on drums.

Bridge of Sighs reached #7 on the Billboard Albums Charts.  It actually stayed in the Top 200 for 31 weeks.

It was produced by Matthew Fisher.  You know Matthew Fisher for creating the wonderful organ sound on Procol Harem’s 1967 hit, “Whiter Shade of Pale.”


  • Robin Trower – guitar
  • James Dewar – bass, vocals
  • Reg Isidore – drums

Track listing

Side One

  1. “Day of the Eagle” – 4:59
  2. “Bridge of Sighs” – 5:05
  3. “In This Place” – 4:28
  4. “The Fool and Me” (Trower, James Dewar) – 3:57

Side Two

  1. “Too Rolling Stoned” – 7:29
  2. “About to Begin” – 3:43
  3. “Lady Love” (Trower, James Dewar) – 3:21
  4. “Little Bit of Sympathy” – 4:20

Posted by Larry Carta

Leave a Reply

Before you post, please prove you are sentient.

what is 6 + 8?