Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young "Déjà Vu"

Today’s Cool Album of the Day (#158 in the Series) Is Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young, Déjà Vu.

I was just sharing the story on Facebook about remembering buying Déjà Vu back in 1970.  I purchased it at the famous Chicagoland record chain called Hegewisch Records.  I was spending the summer at a cousin’s in Calumet City. We road our bikes to Hegewisch  and quickly we were in the store.  I plopped down my $3.49 and we we’re off.  All their LPs were $3.49 back then.  I still remember the sticker on the shrink wrap!   On the way back I wiped out on the bike and the album went flying.  Fear not, it was OK.  I still remember the fear as that brown square cover hit the ground, hard.

Déjà vu was the first album by CSNY, however, it was not their first recording.  That was the single “Ohio” recorded a little earlier.  “Ohio” never did appear on an album before it appeared on the greatest hits package called So Far.

Adding Neil Young to a band with Steven Stills was not a huge stretch since they had played together for years in The Buffalo Springfield.  In fact, the opening number Stills’ “Carry On” contains lyrics from The Buffalo Springfield’s song, “Question.”

“Teach Your Children” features a fine pedal steel part by Jerry Garcia.

“Almost Cut My Hair” is David Crosby’s first addition to the disc.  I remember discussing this album when I was a freshman in high school. I told my friend that I didn’t like this song all that much. I distinctly remember him saying ‘If you don’t like that song, then you don’t like rock and roll.’  I believe he was wrong.

Neil Young joins with his first solo writing credit on Déjà Vu with his classic “Helpless.” Side one ends with the Joni Mitchell penned classic, “Woodstock.”

We open side two with the title cut written by David Crosby, but then again, haven’t we all been here before? Listen for John Sebastian on harp. Graham Nash makes his first lead vocal appearance with “Our House.” A song that would remain in his, and their live shows for years. “4 + 20” was always one of my favorite Steven Stills songs. “Country Girl” (Young) and “Everybody I Love You” (Stills, Young) end our journey.

As the front cover told us Greg Reeves, bass and Dallas Taylor drums filled out the band.  This would be the highlights of both of their careers.

Déjà Vu was a #1 album on the Billboard Album Chart. Woodstock peaked at #11 on the Billboard Singles Chart. “Teach Your Children” hit up to #16 and while “Out House” made it up to #30.

CSN was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1997.


Track Listing

Side one

  1. “Carry On” (Stephen Stills) – 4:26
  2. “Teach Your Children” (Nash) – 2:53
  3. “Almost Cut My Hair” (Crosby) – 4:31
  4. “Helpless” (Young) – 3:33
  5. Woodstock” (Joni Mitchell) – 3:54

Side two

  1. “Déjà Vu” (Crosby) – 4:12
  2. “Our House” (Nash) – 2:59
  3. “4 + 20” (Stills) – 2:04
  4. “Country Girl” (“Whiskey Boot Hill,” “Down, Down, Down,” “Country Girl (I Think You’re Pretty)”) (Young)
  5. “Everybody I Love You” (Stills, Young) – 2:21


Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young
  • David Crosby : rhythm guitar, vocals
  • Stephen Stills : guitar, bass guitar, keyboards, vocals
  • Graham Nash: rhythm guitar, keyboards, vocals
  • Neil Young: guitar, keyboards, harmonica, vocals
Additional personnel
    • Greg Reeves: bass
    • Dallas Taylor: drums, percussion
    • Jerry Garcia: pedal steel guitar (2)
    • John Sebastian: harmonica (6)

Listen to Deja Vu Below

Here are some live videos

Posted by Larry Carta


  1. seastones (04 Oct 2010, 6:38)

    i still remember my first listening to this album vividly. somehow, we were able to get a copy the day before it went on sale in stores. my friend’s father may have worked for the record producer. in any event, we listened to the entire album in a darkened room only lit by black lights. we lay on our backs in silence for both sides of the album. I remember how blown away i was by 4+20. Since i had another friend who had kept me up one night to listen to Buffalo Springfield not long before, I still had that experience resonating through me. Deja Vu, the song, became the song we applied to our lives during those times of political turmoil. The physical album cover itself? well, it had a very different texture to it, and we spent a lot of time just touching it, for hte tactile experience. it also became the default album cover for seperating out shake…

  2. EllisD (04 Oct 2010, 7:15)

    Wondering if anyone catches the “Out House”…

  3. Greg Levieux (06 Mar 2011, 2:55)

    I love this album. I purchased it the day it was released – It never left the turn table for a fortnight accept to be flipped. Must have listened to it 1000s of times and still do regularly – an absolute masterpiece – I think it changed my life!!

Leave a Reply

Before you post, please prove you are sentient.

what is 9 plus 3?