Stan Ridgway “The Big Heat”

Posted 09 Feb 2012 in Albums of the 80s

Today’s Cool Album of the Day (#625 in the Series) is Stan Ridgway, The Big Heat.

OK, How many of you know this one?

If you haven’t heard it, get it!

Stan is possibly better known as the ex front man for Wall Of Voodoo. I’m guessing that you’ve heard “Mexican Radio”  That was far from being the best Wall of Voodoo tune, but it was the one that got the play.

The thing that jumped out at me about this album was the great storytelling. Many of the songs are wonderful short stories. So not only do you get some great Rock and Roll with great musicianship but it takes you to places that most albums don’t touch. I’m thinking of mainly “Campouflage,” “Salesman” and of course, “Drive She Said.” The best get in the car and go song since “Taxi,”

While doing some looking to write this piece I’ve noticed that there is a re-release with some live tracks and unreleased goodies.

Track listing

Except where otherwise indicated, all songs composed by Stan Ridgway

  1. “The Big Heat”
  2. “Pick It Up (And Put It in Your Pocket)”
  3. “Can’t Stop the Show”
  4. “Pile Driver”
  5. “Walkin’ Home Alone”
  6. “Drive She Said”
  7. “Salesman”
  8. “Twisted”
  9. “Camouflage”
  10. “Rio Greyhound” (instrumental)


  • Stan Ridgway – banjo, guitar, harmonica, keyboards, vocals
  • K. K. Barrett – drums
  • Chris Becerra – drums
  • Joe Berardi – drums
  • Hugo Burnham – percussion
  • Louis Cabasa – bass guitar
  • Mark Cohen – banjo, mandolin
  • John Dentino – keyboards
  • Bruce Fowler – trombone
  • Mitchell Froom – keyboards
  • Richard Gibbs – synthesizer, Emulator
  • Richard Greene – violin
  • Bernard Hall – keyboards
  • Roger Kleier – guitar
  • Cliff Martinez – bass
  • Mr. Christopher – violin, cello
  • Bill Noland – piano, keyboards,
  • Joe Ramirez – guitar, programming, vocals, drum programming
  • Tom Recchion – percussion
  • Steve Reid – percussion
  • David Sutton – bass
  • Mark Terlizzi – bass
  • Louis VandenBerg – keyboards
  • Mike Watt – bass
  • Pietra Wexstun – vocals
  • Eric Williams – guitar
  • Bruce Zelesnik – drums

Posted by Larry Carta

Leave a Reply

Before you post, please prove you are sentient.

what is 6 in addition to 4?