Chris Squire (Yes) and Steve Hackett (Genesis) Team Up to Form “Squackett”

Posted 16 Mar 2012 in Music + TV News, Steve Hackett



Talk of this team up has been out there for sometime, but now it’s official. Chris Squire of Yes and Steve Hackett once of Genesis have formed a band that will be called Squackett. Their debut album will be released on May 28th.  A single will be released April 21st which is also Record Store Day.  It will be released by Esoteric Antenna Records which is also the home to the next Todd Rundgren effort.

Press Release:

Esoteric Antenna are pleased to announce the release of the hugely anticipated album by SQUACKETT, the collaborative project between two legends of Progressive Rock, Chris Squire and Steve Hackett.

With progressive rock (in its many forms) now seemingly more popular than ever, a collaboration from members of two godfathers of the genre is hugely exciting. Chris Squire has appeared on every YES album and is widely regarded as one of the most influential bass guitarists of all time. Now an established solo artist, Steve Hackett first came to prominence as the guitarist with GENESIS. He was in the band from 1971 to 1977 and played on six studio albums and three live albums before leaving to concentrate on his solo career.

The two met when Chris Squire was working on a solo album and needed some guitar parts. Chris was put in touch with Steve and through these sessions the idea for SQUACKETT was born. Over four years in the making, the “Squackett” album is very much more than the sum of its parts. “It was very much about a bunch of pals swapping notes and anecdotes,” says Hackett “I would say if people are looking for uncountable time signatures, in the main that’s not what this album holds. I think the songs are more simple and direct.” “It has a flavour to it that is reminiscent of a few things from different artists,” says Squire. “There is some clever prog rock stuff in there, some jazzy bits but there are parts that have vocal harmonies like Crosby, Stills and Nash”

“There’ll be certain things on there that I think you’ll be hard-pressed to say this is a combination of guys that have come from Genesis and Yes. I think it’s bigger than that. We cast a wider net over all the genres”.

Album tracklisting is as follows:

  1. A Life Within a Day
  2. Tall Ships
  3. Divided Self
  4. Aliens
  5. Sea of Smiles
  6. The Summer Backwards
  7. Storm Chaser
  8. Can’t Stop the Rain
  9. Perfect Love Song
Posted by Larry Carta

Leave a Reply

Before you post, please prove you are sentient.

what is 4 plus 3?