Sea Level “Cats on the Coast”


Today’s Cool Album of the Day (#496 in the Series) is Sea Level, Cats on the Coast.

This 1978 was Sea Level’s second of what would be, five studio albums. They were part of the Capricorn Records family. So many of those great southern bands were from that 70s era.  They were from Macon, Georgia.

Speaking of Macon, Georgia, Sea Level was kind of an Allman Brothers spin off, but not really. They were a little a little more ‘jazzy fusiony’ than the brothers. They would often play “Statesboro Blues” in their live shows.

Three of the band members did play with the Allman Brothers at one time or another.

Main founding member, Chuck Leavell was on keyboards. Jai Johanny “Jaimoe” Johanson, drums. Lamar Williams, bass and Jimmy Nalls, guitar.

It was produced by Stewart Levine. Stewart also worked with acts such as Sly Stone, Minnie Ripperton, Joe Cocker, Aaron Neville and even Killing Joke.

“That’s You Secret” was the most popular song here and probably, the most popular song of the band’s career.

Lamar Williams died of Agent Orange related cancer in 1983. Chuck Leavell has toured with the Rolling Stones for years. His newest project is playing in a band called Watson’s Riddle.  They just recently released their first album on Palmetto Records. He’s also recently released his first book. It’s entitled Growing a Better America. You can read about both of those projects via the Chuck Leavell Website which I’ve linked below.

–Larry Carta

Track listing

Side one

  1. “That’s Your Secret” (Randall Bramblett, Davis Causey) – 5:15
  2. “It Hurts To Want It So Bad” (Charles Feldman, Tim Smith, Steve Smith) – 3:38
  3. “Storm Warning” (Chuck Leavell) – 5:23
  4. “Had To Fall” (Randall Bramblett, Jimmy Nalls, Lamar Williams) – 4:35

Side two

  1. “Midnight Pass” (Neil Larson) – 6:30
  2. “Every Little Thing” (Randall Bramblett) – 4:40
  3. “Cats On The Coast” (Davis Causey) – 5:38
  4. “Song For Amy” (Chuck Leavell) – 1:40


  • Randall Bramblett – organ, alto and soprano sax. vocals, percussion
  • Davis Causey – guitar, background vocals
  • Jai Johanny Johanson – congas
  • Chuck Leavell – piano, organ, electric piano, Arp Odyssey, clavinet, percussion, vocals
  • Jimmy Nalls – guitar, background vocals
  • George Weaver – drums
  • Lamar Williams – bass


  • ‘That’s Your Secret’ peaked at #50 on the Billboard US Singles Chart.
  • ‘Cats on the Coast’ peaked at #31 on the Billboard Top 200 Album Chart.


Back to the Cool Album Home Page

Posted by Larry Carta

Leave a Reply

Before you post, please prove you are sentient.

what is 4 in addition to 8?