Ultravox to Release “Brilliant” in May. Their First New Album in 28 Years.

Posted 29 Mar 2012 in Music + TV News



It’s been nearly three decades since we last her a new studio album from Ultravox, but that soon will change.  They will be releasing a new album titled, Brilliant, on May 28th.  As of now 13 UK dates are being planned but they have not been announced. No word yet on a USA or Australian tour.  Brilliant will be released on EMI Records.


Release: May 28th on EMI Records

Ultravox is Midge Ure / Billy Currie / Chris Cross / Warren Cann

EMI are proud to announce the return of Ultravox with their first studio album in 28 years. Following on from the sold-out Return To Eden reformation shows in 2009, the classic Ultravox line-up has recorded a 12-track collection of brand new songs which will be released on May 28th ahead of a full UK tour in September and October.

Dramatic, passionate and truly epic in scale and sound, ‘Brilliant’ is not only a prescient reminder of how great this reborn band are, but an exciting and vital addition to an extraordinary catalogue of music which today sounds more current and influential than ever.

Emerging from the new wave and electro scenes of the late 70’s, Ultravox fashioned a form of electronic rock music that was uniquely powerful and delivered massive hits through the 1980’s such as ‘Hymn’, ‘Dancing With Tears In My Eyes’, ‘The Voice’, ‘Reap The Wild Wind’, ‘Love’s Great Adventure’, ‘We Came To Dance’ and of course the timeless and atmospheric ‘Vienna’.

‘Brilliant’ sees Ultravox expanding their classic sonic template and reminding us of their strength as songwriters of the highest calibre. Full details of the album will be revealed soon along with the thirteen-date tour they will be embarking on later this year.

The tracklisting for ‘Brilliant’ is as follows:

  1. Live Again
  2. Flow
  3. Brilliant
  4. The Change
  5. Rise
  6. Remembering
  7. Hello
  8. This One
  9. Fall
  10. Let It Lie
  11. Satellite
  12. Contact

Photo’s courtesy of Extreme Voice 

Live from “Back in the Day” ..

Video for “Reap the Wild Wind”

Posted by Larry Carta

Leave a Reply

Before you post, please prove you are sentient.

what is 5 + 4?