Split Enz “Time + Tide”


Today’s Cool Album of The Day(#530 in the Series)  is Split Enz, Time + Tide.

In a year that included many great albums, (Joe Jackson Night and Day, Utopia, Marshall Crenshaw, Richard and Linda Thompson Shoot Out the Lights, etc) the Split Enz, Time + Tide was clearly my favorite.  The show that I saw from this tour at the Uptown Theater in Kansas City was also one of my favorites of all time.

It never ceases to amaze me that Split Enz, nor the follow up band Crowded House has never hit it big here in the States. What the heck are our radio station music directors thinking?

Time and Tide had many, many AOR friendly tracks. For some reason, it just didn’t get the airplay in the States that it deserved.

“Dirty Creature”, “Giant Heartbeat”,  “Never Ceases to Amaze Me” or at least “Six Months In a Leaky Boat.”  All those songs could have been prominent on our airwaves!

Another great song is “Sandy Allen”, at the time the world’s tallest woman. A song written about the bands meeting with her in the green room when they were both appearing on the Tom Snyder Show.enz

Most of the music here was written by the Finn Brothers, Tim and Neil. Besides the brothers, other members of the band included the great Eddie Raynor on keys. Nigel Griggs on bass, and Noel Crombie on drums.

The 1982 release was produced by Hugh Padgham and the band members. Hugh has done some great work from everyone from Genesis, XTC, Peter Gabriel, Sting, Yes and Frank Zappa etc. Nice resume dude!

— Larry Carta

Track listing

Side One

  1. “Dirty Creature” (Neil Finn, Tim Finn & Nigel Griggs) – 4:02
  2. “Giant Heartbeat” (N. Finn & Griggs) – 3:57
  3. “Hello Sandy Allen” (N. Finn) – 3:51
  4. “Never Ceases to Amaze Me” (T. Finn) – 3:06
  5. “Lost for Words” (N. Finn, T. Finn & Griggs) – 3:02
  6. “Small World” (T. Finn) – 3:37
Side Two
  1. “Take a Walk” (N. Finn) – 3:37
  2. “Pioneer” (Eddie Rayner) – 1:32
  3. “Six Months in a Leaky Boat” (T. Finn & Split Enz) – 4:21
  4. “Haul Away” (T. Finn) – 2:27
  5. “Log Cabin Fever” (N. Finn) – 4:36
  6. “Make Sense of It” (Noel Crombie, T. Finn, N. Finn, Griggs & Rayner) – 3:40


Split Enz

  • Tim Finn – vocals, piano
  • Neil Finn – vocals, guitar
  • Noel Crombie – drums, percussion
  • Nigel Griggs – bass
  • Eddie Rayner – percussion, keyboards


Posted by Larry Carta

1 Comment

  1. Dave P. (06 Dec 2011, 17:53)

    One of my all time favorite bands. Thier catalog has been remastered by their Austrailian label Mushroom Records. The remaster of CORROREE is actually a re-mix, and is horrible. TIME AND TIDE was their last great effort.

Leave a Reply

Before you post, please prove you are sentient.

what is 9 + 6?