Warning: session_start(): Cannot send session cookie - headers already sent by (output started at /home/content/36/4264636/html/coolalbumreview/index.php:2) in /home/content/36/4264636/html/coolalbumreview/wp-content/plugins/quick-contact/quick-contact.php on line 10

Warning: session_start(): Cannot send session cache limiter - headers already sent (output started at /home/content/36/4264636/html/coolalbumreview/index.php:2) in /home/content/36/4264636/html/coolalbumreview/wp-content/plugins/quick-contact/quick-contact.php on line 10

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/content/36/4264636/html/coolalbumreview/index.php:2) in /home/content/36/4264636/html/coolalbumreview/wp-content/plugins/cart66/models/Cart66SessionDb.php on line 176

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/content/36/4264636/html/coolalbumreview/index.php:2) in /home/content/36/4264636/html/coolalbumreview/wp-content/plugins/cart66/models/Cart66SessionDb.php on line 177
Joe Cocker "Cocker" « Cool Album of the Day

Joe Cocker "Cocker"

Posted 17 Jun 2012 in Albums of 1986, Albums of the 80s

Today’s Cool Album of the Day (#718 in the Series) is Joe Cocker, Cocker.

This is one of those albums that did not include a disappointing track. I hadn’t listened to a new Cocker release in years when a promo of this arrived in my mail one day. I guess it’s not as bluesy as most Cocker albums, in fact, some people might not be thrilled with the inclusion of a couple power-ballads, but I always loved the release. 

The most well known song was Randy Newman’s ‘You Can Leave Your Hat On.’ Sure, it still provides for some great video memories for many, but it was hardly the best song.

Give me JC’s reading of Marvin Gaye’s “Inner City Blues,” or maybe the opening cut, ‘Shelter Me.’

Not only are there great songs here, but Joe also brings them to life with a number of great musicians. They include one of my favorite guitarists of all time, Neal Schon, Jeff Lorber plays keyboards, Mel Collins on Sax, Bernard Edwards,bass.


  • Joe Cocker – vocals
  • Neal Schon – guitar
  • Jeff Lorber – keyboards
  • Bernard Edwards – bass
  • Albert Hammond – background vocals
  • Larry Marshall – organ, synthesizer
  • Michael Baird – drums
  • Arthur Barrow – synthesizer, bass
  • Michael Boddicker – keyboards
  • Jeff Bova – keyboards
  • Mel Collins – saxophone
  • Bob Ezrin – arranger
  • Anton Fig – drums
  • Cliff Goodwin – guitar
  • Maxine Green – background vocals
  • Howard Hersh – piano
  • Dann Huff – guitar
  • Curtis King – background vocals
  • Andrew Love – saxophone
  • Steve Madaio – horn
  • Carl Marsh – Fairlight
  • Eddie Martinez – guitar
  • Mike Moran – bass, keyboards
  • Eric Parker – drums
  • Joel Peskin – horn
  • Vito San Filippo – bass
  • Julia Tillman Waters – background vocals
  • Leslie Smith – background vocals
  • Joe Turano – background vocals
  • Diane Warren – background vocals
  • Elesecia Wright – background vocals
  • Richie Zito – guitar
  • Dick Hyde – horn
  • Maxine Waters – background vocals
  • Randy Jackson – bass

Track listing

Side 1:

  1. “Shelter Me” (Nick DiStefano) – 5:36
  2. “A to Z” (Tom Kimmel) – 4:21
  3. “Don’t You Love Me Anymore” (Albert Hammond, Diane Warren) – 5:25
  4. “Living Without Your Love” (Michael Bolton, Doug James) – 4:09
  5. “Don’t Drink the Water” (Richard Feldman, Pat Robinson) – 3:25

Side 2:

  1. “You Can Leave Your Hat On” (Randy Newman) – 4:14
  2. “Heart of the Matter” (Billy Aerts) – 4:20
  3. “Inner City Blues (Make Me Wanna Holler)” (Marvin Gaye, James Jr. Nyx) – 5:51
  4. “Love Is on a Fade” (Stephen Allen Davis) – 4:04
  5. “Heaven” (Terry Manning) – 4:32

Back to ‘Cool Album’ HOMEPAGE

Posted by Larry Carta

Leave a Reply

Before you post, please prove you are sentient.

what is 5 in addition to 9?