Walk the Moon, “Walk the Moon”


Today’s Cool Album of the Day (#731 in the Series) is Walk the Moon, Walk the Moon

Any album whose first track is called “Quesadilla” is a winner in my book. But Walk the Moon go beyond wit and banter to follow through with the clap-happy promise of their self-titled record. It only takes eleven tracks to establish themselves as front runners in the sometimes-stagnant pop scene.

They’ve managed to balance a crazy tour schedule, including the SXSW festival, supporting Panic at the Disco and Weezer, and headlining Lollapalooza. They recently played David Letterman (you can check it out below) and did so with an unprecedented energy and appeal. On top of all of this, they continue to release music that will please the masses – and for once, that’s not a bad thing at all.

This album will be their third full-length in three years, an accomplishment in and of itself. Their previous records – The Other Side, and I Want! I Want! – both were independent releases, and they were signed to RCA Records in 2011. One might think that this corporate invasion could make them stumble. Yet, they decided against just putting out another pop album and make this attempt a success in more ways than one. Each song from this Ohio-based group reeks of summer and first loves, from the snarky and sultry “Jenny” to the ethereal and reflective “Fixin’.” “Tightrope” will have you tapping your toes for days and the aforementioned “Quesadilla” is a reminder of pop giants fun. – in the best way possible.

Their hit song “Anna Sun” – named after lead singer Nicolas Petricca’s college professor – has gained numerous nods for both its musicianship and beautiful lyrics. By the second verse, this quartet has won everyone over with a quick beat and a playfulness that is a breath of fresh air. However, every song on this record could fit perfectly into a summer playlist; it’s made to be listened to cover to cover, in a car with the windows rolled down and parked on the beach.

Overall, this self-titled sophomore album will be a hit with tastes across the board – from indie to pop to the ambiguous “alternative.” I recommend you pick it up and have a listen, preferably in the sun with a cold drink in hand.

— MacKenzie Hall (Follow Mackenzie – @hallformusic ) 

Track Listing

  1. Quesadilla (Nicholas Petricca) 3:15
  2. Lisa Baby (Nicholas Petricca) 3:52
  3. Next in Line (Maiman/Petricca/Ray/Waugaman) 3:59
  4. Anna Sun (Nicholas Petricca) 5:21
  5. Tightrope (Maiman/Petricca/Ray/Waugaman) 3:30
  6. Jenny (Nicholas Petricca) 4:05
  7. Shiver Shiver (Maiman/Petricca/Ray/Waugaman) 3:52
  8. Lions (Maiman / Petricca) 0:35
  9. Iscariot (Nicholas Petricca) 5:23
  10. Fixin’ (Maiman/Petricca/Ray/Waugaman) 4:22
  11. I Can Lift a Car (Nicholas Petricca) 4:48


  • Eli Maiman – Guitar, Vocals
  • Nicholas Petricca – Keyboards, Percussion, Vocals
  • Kevin Ray – Bass, Vocals
  • Sean Waugaman – Drums. Percussion, Vocals


Check them out on a recent Letterman show..

Here’s the album in its entirety (But make sure you still buy it! We’re only posting these videos temporarily.)

Check out this very cool cover of Bowie’s “Let’s Dance.”

Here are more NEW MUSIC reviews.

[jcarousel source=”cat=5529″ link=”permalink” size=”100×100″ limit=”100″ items=”4″ speed=”400″ margin=”10″]

Posted by Larry Carta


  1. Emily (11 Jul 2012, 11:23)

    Sorry, this really did not come close to Bowie’s version.

    • Larry Carta (13 Jul 2012, 10:03)

      Of course Emily, but I don’t think it tried to be.

Leave a Reply

Before you post, please prove you are sentient.

what is 5 + 4?