Howard Jones ‘Human’s Lib’

Posted 21 Jul 2011 in 80s, Albums of 1984, Albums of the 80s, Dance, New Wave

Today’s Cool Album of the Day (#441 in The Series) is Howard Jones, Human’s Lib

I actually started a write up for Howard’s second album, Dream Into Action when I started doing some research.  I wanted to know the usual, chart positions, songs I may have forgotten, how many other albums the artist had etc.

So I saw it was his second and I took a peak back at the debut.  I remembered how much I liked that album and called an audible! So now we’re going to do Human’s Lib. Not as successful as Dream Into Action, chart-wise, but a very good piece of music. Two songs received most of the airplay. They were, “New Song” and “What is Love.”

“New Song” was a jumpy number that did well in the clubs.  Disco had only been dead for a number of years and new wave dance tunes like this were a welcome change! 

“New Song” reached #25 and What is Love peaked at #33 on the Billboard Hot 100 Singles Chart. The album hit up to #59 on the Billboard Top 200 Chart.

Howard played almost all the instruments on this album. The only listing I see otherwise is Davey Payne on saxophone. It was produced by Rupert Hine (Saga, Chris DeBurgh, Power Station, Tina Turner ‘Private Dancer’, Duncan Sheik)

Human’s Lib was recorded in 1983 and released in 1984.

Check out the playlist. It includes a VERY cool live rendition of “What is Love” from the 1988 Prince’s Trust Rock Gala,Featuring Phil Collins on drums, Ulravox’ Midge Ure and Brian May on guitar!!!!

Track listing

Side One

  1. “Conditioning” 4:32
  2. “What Is Love?” 3:45
  3. “Pearl in the Shell” 4:03
  4. “Hide and Seek”  5:34
  5. “Hunt the Self ” 3:42

Side Two

  1. “New Song”  4:15
  2. “Don’t Always Look at the Rain” 4:13
  3. “Equality” 4:26
  4. “Natural”  4:25
  5. “Human’s Lib”  4:03


  • Howard Jones – synthesizer, keyboards, vocals
  • Davey Payne – saxophone


Posted by Larry Carta

Leave a Reply

Before you post, please prove you are sentient.

what is 8 + 2?