Americana Music Awards Streaming Tonight. Bonnie Raitt, Alabama Shakes, JTE, Kasey Chambers, John Hiatt, Jason Isbell and more on hand.

Posted 12 Sep 2012 in Music + TV News

The 2012 Americana Music Awards will be streamed live tonight. You can catch the entire show beginning at 8ET, 7CT Sharp!  We have the links below.

The performer list includes the best and brightest icons and rising stars: Bonnie Raitt, Alabama Shakes, Booker T. Jones, Carolina Chocolate Drops, Deep Dark Woods, Hayes Carll with Cary Ann Hearst, Guy Clark, Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit, John Hiatt, Justin Townes Earle, Kasey Chambers & Shane Nicholson, Punch Brothers, Tom T. Hall with Lee Ann Womack and Peter Cooper, Robert Ellis, Sarah Jarosz, The Mavericks, Richard Thompson, and an all-star finale tribute to Levon Helm.

The list of Americana luminaries extends to the presenters of the awards featuring The Civil Wars, Patterson Hood, Sara Watkins, Brandi Carlile, Amy Helm, Sam Bush, Bruce Robison & Kelly Willis, Allison Moorer, Rodney Crowell, Mike Mills, Jody Stephens and The Wallflowers.
Americana fans can choose one of many ways to watch or listen to the spectacular lineup live from The Ryman Auditorium on September 12. The Americana Honors & Awards, presented by Nissan will be airing live on AXS TV,, Sirius/XM and WSM (7pm CT/8pm ET). “Austin City Limits,” will broadcast an edited special November 10th. Voice of America and Bob Harris of BBC2 will broadcast overseas in the following weeks.
The program, described by Paste Magazine as “the best awards show in the world,” will again be helmed by the best two men for the job, host Jim Lauderdale and band leader Buddy Miller. Miller will be leading and performing with the All-Star Band that includes Don Was, Rami Jaffee, Brady Blade & Larry Campbell.
Here is a list of the nominees.

Album of the Year

Here We Rest – Jason Isbell & The 400 Unit
I’ll Never Get Out of this World Alive – Steve Earle
The Harrow & The Harvest – Gillian Welch
This One’s For Him: A Tribute to Guy Clark – Various Artists (winner)

Artist of the Year
Gillian Welch – (winner)
Hayes Carll
Jason Isbell
Justin Townes Earle

Emerging Artist of the Year
Alabama Shakes – (winner)
Deep Dark Woods

Song of the Year
“Alabama Pines” – Written by Jason Isbell and performed by Jason Isbell & The 400 Unit -(winner)
“Come Around” – Written and performed by Sarah Jarosz
“I Love” – Written by Tom T. Hall and performed by Patty Griffin
“Waiting On The Sky to Fall” – Written and performed by Steve Earle

Instrumentalist of the Year
Buddy Miller
Chris Thile
Darrell Scott
Dave Rawlings – (winner)

Duo/Group of the Year
Carolina Chocolate Drops
The Civil Wars – (winner)
Gillian Welch & Dave Rawlings
Jason Isbell & The 400 Unit
Punch Brothers

NOTE: Now that the show is complete we hope to have some On Demand Streaming information for you soon.

Listen to the four “Song of the Year” Nominees below…

Posted by Larry Carta

1 Comment

  1. Steve (22 Sep 2012, 19:42)

    Have you found any information about on-demand streaming of the live broadcast?

Leave a Reply

Before you post, please prove you are sentient.

what is 2 in addition to 9?