The Church Perform ‘Starfish’ in its Entirety as it Marks its 25th Anniversary. Watch it Here



2013 marks the 25th anniversary of the great album Starfish from the Australian band The Church. The album was released on February 16th, 1988.  It featured the bands first US hit, “Under The Milky Way.”

The album peaked at #41 here on the Billboard Top 200 Album chart and “Under The Milky Way” peaked at #26 on the Hot 100 Singles chart.




Track listing

  1. “Destination” (Kilbey/Willson-Piper/Koppes/Ploog)
  2. “Under the Milky Way” (Kilbey/Jansson)
  3. “Blood Money” (Kilbey/Willson-Piper/Koppes/Ploog)
  4. “Lost” (Kilbey/Willson-Piper/Koppes/Ploog)
  5. “North, South, East And West” (Kilbey/Willson-Piper/Koppes/Ploog)
  6. “Spark” (Willson-Piper)
  7. “Antenna” (Kilbey/Willson-Piper/Koppes/Ploog)
  8. “Reptile” (Kilbey/Willson-Piper/Koppes/Ploog)
  9. “A New Season” (Koppes)
  10. “Hotel Womb” (Kilbey)

Here’s the personnel listing for the original recording


  • Steve Kilbey: bass guitar, lead vocals
  • Peter Koppes: guitars, lead vocal on “A New Season”
  • Marty Willson-Piper: guitars, lead vocal on “Spark”
  • Richard Ploog: drums, percussion

Additional musicians

  • Greg Kuehn – keyboards
  • Russ Kunkel – drums and percussion on “Under The Milky Way”
  • David Lindley – mandolin on “Antenna”
  • “Awesome Welles” – Synclavier
  • Waddy Wachtel – backing vocals


Posted by Larry Carta

Leave a Reply

Before you post, please prove you are sentient.

what is 6 + 5?