U.K. "U.K."

Posted 27 Jul 2010 in 70s, Albums of 1978, Albums of the 70s, Prog-Rock

Today’s Cool Album of The Day is UK, “UK”

One of the best ‘supergroups’ of their day.

U.K was of: John Wetton, (King Crimson, Uriah Heep, Roxy Music) bass, vocals; Bill Bruford (Yes, King Crimson, Genesis) drums and percussion; Eddie Jobson (Curved Air, Roxy Music, Frank Zappa) violin, keyboards and electronics and Allan Holdsworth (Soft Machine, Gong) guitars.

The some was as big as the parts on this 1978 release.

The best known track was the single ‘In The Dead of Night.’ ‘Alaska’ and ‘Time to Kill’ also got some play.

U.K. was produced by U.K and reached #65 on the Billboard US Charts.

Track listing

Side one

  1. “In the Dead of Night” (Eddie Jobson, John Wetton) – 5:38
  2. “By the Light of Day” (Jobson, Wetton) – 4:32
  3. “Presto Vivace and Reprise” (Jobson, Wetton) – 2:58
  4. “Thirty Years” (Wetton, Jobson, Bill Bruford) – 8:05

Side two

  1. “Alaska” (Jobson) – 4:45
  2. “Time to Kill” (Jobson, Wetton, Bruford) – 4:55
  3. “Nevermore” (Allan Holdsworth, Jobson, Wetton) – 8:09
  4. “Mental Medication” (Holdsworth, Bruford, Jobson) – 6:12


  • Eddie Jobson – Electric violin, Keyboards, Electronics
  • John Wetton – Lead vocals, Bass guitar
  • Allan Holdsworth – Guitars
  • Bill Bruford – Drums, Percussion

Check this out.  Instead of my adding the standard video.  This is a cover by three young men aged 11-15 playing In the Dead of Night.  And to think that this band, Mindwalk is a trio and UK was a four piece.

Posted by Larry Carta

Leave a Reply

Before you post, please prove you are sentient.

what is 7 + 5?