Brian Wilson ‘Brian Wilson’


Song Of The Day by Eric Berman – “Melt Away” by Brian Wilson

The fact that Brian Wilson’s eponymously titled album was ever completed was seen as nothing short of a miracle back in 1988 when it appeared in the record racks.

After more than a decade of inactivity in which Wilson spent most of his time in bed doing nothing, he came under the around the clock care of Dr. Eugene Landy who got him out of bed, put him on an exercise regimen and got him back into the studio.

Brian Wilson was pared with Beach Boy aficionado Andy Paley who produced the sessions, however like Murray Wilson (Brian’s dad) before him, Dr. Landy was a constant impediment to the album’s process, bribing Wilson to do what he wanted (including changing lyrics to his liking) with milkshakes and hamburgers.

In fact, there are unreleased tapes known to collectors as “The Hamburger Tapes” in which Landy bribed Wilson to compose songs in exchange for hamburgers.  Controversially, Dr. Landy also took writing credits for himself and his girlfriend on many of the song from this album, which after a legal battle were later removed.

The album was met with unanimously positive reviews upon its release and it includes a strong set of songs including the now-classic “Love And Mercy,” “Baby Let Your Hair Grow Long,” “Night Time,” “Let It Shine” (co-written by Jeff Lynne), the eight minute multi-part suite “Rio Grande” and today’s Song Of The Day which was released as the album’s second single.

Although Landy’s ways were controversial and somewhat underhanded, he did manage to get Wilson’s creative mojo back to be share with the world.

45adapter5050 Eric BermanPlease visit and LIKE our facebook page


Track Listing

Side A 

  1. “Love And Mercy” 2:52bwilsonn
  2. “Walkin’ The Line” 2:37
  3. “Melt Away” 2:58
  4. “Baby Let Your Hair Grow Long” 3:15
  5. “Little Children” 1:48
  6. “One For The Boys” 1:47
  7. “There’s So Many” 2:46

Side B   

  1. “Night Time” 3:34
  2. “Let It Shine” 3:57
  3. “Meet Me In My Dreams Tonight” 3:05
  4. “Rio Grande” 8:12


  • Brian Wilson – vocals, piano, organ, chimes, glockenspiel, bells, vibraphone, sound effects
Additional musicians
  • Jeff Lynne – bass, guitar, keyboards
  • Rob Mounsey – guitar, piano, emulator, synth guitar
  • Elliot Easton – guitar
  • Michael Andreas – flute, saxophone
  • Michael Bernard – drums, synthesizer programming
  • Stewart Blumberg – trumpet
  • Jeff Bova – keyboards, programming
  • Jimmy Bralower – drum programming
  • Lance Buller – trumpet
  • Terence Trent D’Arby – background vocals
  • Christopher Cross – background vocals
  • Andy Dean – percussion, programming, bells, vibraphone
  • Tris Imboden – drums
  • Hyman Katz – flute, piccolo
  • Robbie Kilgore – keyboard programming
  • Larry Williams – saxophone
  • Harry Kim – trumpet
  • Steve Lindsey – keyboards, synthesizer programming
  • Jay Migliori – baritone saxophone
  • Andy Paley – guitar, bass, harmonica, percussion, background vocals
  • Dean Parks – guitar
  • Bob Riley – drum machine
  • Philippe Saisse – synthesizer programming
  • Carol Steele – percussion
  • Todd Herreman – Fairlight synthesizer
  • Frank Morrocco – accordion
  • Baystate Bluegrass Band – acoustic guitars, banjos, mandolin
  • Robbie Condor – synthesizer programming
  • Eugene E. Landy – background vocals
  • Tony Salvage – violin, saw
  • Kevin S. Leslie – footsteps

Posted by Larry Carta

Leave a Reply

Before you post, please prove you are sentient.

what is 4 plus 5?