China Crisis "What Price Paradise"

Posted 04 Aug 2010 in 80s, Albums of 1986, Albums of the 80s, Rock + Roll

Today’s “Cool Album of the Day” is China Crisis. What Price Paradise.

What Price Paradise may have gotten more airplay in my car and living room than any album released in the mid to late eighties.

I just fell in love with this when it was released in 1986. I had a chance to see this tour at the Park West in Chicago in 1987. To this day it remains one of the best shows I ever saw. They dedicated an encore track to the great Chicago reggae bar ‘Kingston Mines’ and even segued into Bob Marley’s ‘Exodus!’

Slick sounding, great groove with excellent playing. Maybe think, Steely Dan with a little more edge. In fact, their previous album was produced by Dan’s Walter Becker.

Many great tracks included here. ‘Arizona Sky’ got the most airplay in Chicago. Other wonderful songs included ‘It’s Everything, The Understudy, June Bride, Safe as Houses’ and’ Worlds Apart.’ I could have easily have just listed anything on this disc. It’s that good.

China Crisis was Gary Daly, keys, vocals. Eddie Lundon, guitars, vocals. Brian McNeil, keys, vocals, Gary ‘Gazza’ Johnson, bass and of course the late Kevin Wilkinson on drums and percussion.

What Price Paradise was produced by the great team of Clive Langer and Alan Winstanley. They of Aztec Camera, Hot House Flowers, Teardrop Explodes, Morrissey, They Might be Giants, Bush and Elvis Costello fame.

Track listing

All tracks written by Gary Daly, Gazza Johnson, Eddie Lundon, Brian McNeill, Kevin Wilkinson, except where stated.

  1. “It’s Everything” – 5:09
  2. “Arizona Sky” – 5:24
  3. “Safe as Houses” – 4:26
  4. “Worlds Apart” (Daly, Johnson, Lundon, McNeill, Wilkinson, Kevin Kelly) – 3:35
  5. “Hampton Beach” – 4:47
  6. “The Understudy” – 5:45
  7. “Best Kept Secret” – 4:08
  8. “We Do the Same” – 4:21
  9. “June Bride” – 3:50
  10. “A Day’s Work for the Dayo’s Done” – 4:17


  • Gary Daly – vocals
  • Brian McNeill – synthesizer, vocals
  • Eddie Lundon – guitar, vocals
  • Gary “Gazza” Johnson – bass guitar
  • Kevin Wilkinson – drums, percussion

Posted by Larry Carta

Leave a Reply

Before you post, please prove you are sentient.

what is 7 + 3?