Pretenders “Get Close”

Posted 22 Nov 2010 in 80s, Albums of 1986, Albums of the 80s, Rock + Roll

Today’s Cool Album of the Day (#201 in the Series) in The Pretenders, Get Close.

Get Close was The Pretenders fourth album. It was released in 1986.  It was the first album with the new rhythm section of Blair Cunningham on drums and T.M. Stevens on bass.  Robbie McIntosh and, of course, Chrissie Hynde were on guitar.  Original drummer Martin Chambers did play a few tracks on the album and would return to the band a few years later.

It yielded a couple well known hits as well, “Don’t Get Me Wrong” and “My Baby.” “Don’t Get Me Wrong” featured a great video that featured a takeoff on the 60s British spy-drama The Avengers.

The redo of a Jimi Hendrix’ “Room Full of Mirrors” also did well on FM radio.

My favorite on the disc was easily the moving “Hymn To Her.” I’ve included a live recording. The song. and especially Chrissie’s performance here are spectacular. Please check it out!

“Chill Factor” was a pretty darn good song as well.

Get Close peaked at number #25 on the Billboard Top 200 Album Chart.

“Don’t Get Me Wrong” peaked at #14 on the Billboard Hot 100 Chart.

Get Close was produced by Jimmy Iovine.


Track Listing

  1. “My Baby”
  2. “When I Change My Life”
  3. “Light Of The Moon”
  4. “Dance!”
  5. “Tradition Of Love”
  6. “Don’t Get Me Wrong”
  7. “I Remember You”
  8. “How Much Did You Get For Your Soul?”
  9. “Chill Factor”
  10. “Hymn To Her”
  11. “Room Full Of Mirrors”


  • Chrissie Hynde – rhythm guitar, vocals
  • Robbie McIntosh – lead guitar
  • T. M. Stevens – bass
  • Blair Cunningham – drums, percussion

Additional personnel

  • Bernie Worrell – organ, synthesizer
  • Martin Chambers – drums
  • Rupert Black – keyboards
  • Carlos Alomar – synthesizer, percussion
  • Bruce Brody – organ
  • Mel Gaynor – drums
  • Steve Jordan – drums, percussion
  • Tommy Mandel – synthesizer
  • John McKenzie – bass
  • Chucho Merchan – bass
  • Simon Phillips – drums
  • Patrick Seymour – synthesizer
  • Lakshminarayana Shankar – violin
  • Bruce Thomas – bass
  • Paul “Wix” Wickens – synthesizer, piano

Posted by Larry Carta

Leave a Reply

Before you post, please prove you are sentient.

what is 9 plus 4?