Bobby & The Midnites “Bobby & The Midnites”

Posted 18 Jan 2012 in 80s, Albums of 1981, Albums of the 80s, Rock + Roll

Today’s Cool Album of the Day(#609 in the Series) is the self titled album by Bobby and The Midnites.

Are you familiar with this one? You should be.
Talk about a great grouping of musicians.

Bobby is Bob Weir ( guitar, vocals) of the Grateful Dead.
This was one of his many side projects.

Released in 1981, the rest of the band features one of the greatest drummers that ever put wood to skin, Billy Cobham. Bass duties were held by another heavy weight, Alphonso Johnson. Bobby Cochran on guitar and vocals. Keyboards? Brent Mydland of the Dead.

Even with the jazz influences, this was still a rock and roll record.
Tons of great tracks, including ‘Too Many Losers, Book of Rules’ and ‘Haze.’

Track listing

  1. “Haze” (Brent Mydland, Daoud Shaw, Bob Weir, Bobby Cochran, Matthew Kelly) – 5:08
  2. “Too Many Losers” (Cochran, Weir) – 3:50
  3. “Far Away” (Weir, Cochran, Kelly) – 3:34
  4. “Book of Rules” (Harry Johnson, Barry Llewellyn) – 3:31
  5. “Me, Without You” (John Perry Barlow, Alphonso Johnson) – 3:12
  6. “Josephine” (Weir) – 6:11
  7. “(I Want to) Fly Away” (Barlow, Weir) – 3:55
  8. “Carry Me” (Weir) – 4:27
  9. “Festival” (Weir) – 4:59


  • Billy Cobham – drums, vocals
  • Bobby Cochran – guitar, vocals
  • Alphonso Johnson – bass guitar, vocals
  • Matt Kelly – harmonica, vocals
  • Brent Mydland – keyboards, Hammond B3, vocals
  • Bob Weir – guitar, vocals

Posted by Larry Carta

Leave a Reply

Before you post, please prove you are sentient.

what is 5 + 2?