New Order “Power, Corruption and Lies”

Today’s Cool Album of the Day (#210 in the Series) is New Order, Power, Corruption and Lies.

New Order was one of the more interesting acts to come out the 80s. They were often lumped into the synth acts that were quite popular in that era.  New Order was more than that however as they did bring in a nice mix of guitar and drums in their music.  Sure some of it was programmed but a large portion was not.

They had one of the most well-known dance hits a few months earlier with ‘Blue Monday.’ It was one of the defining songs of early club tunes. It remains popular to this day.  That was originally released as a 12” single in 1982. This was the release directly after in 1983.


  • Bernard Sumner – vocals, guitars, melodica, synthesizers and programming
  • Peter Hook – 4 and 6-stringed bass, electronic percussion
  • Stephen Morris – drums, synthesizers and programming
  • Gillian Gilbert – synthesizers and programming, guitars

Track listing

All songs were written by New Order.

Side one
  1. “Age of Consent” – 5:16
  2. “We All Stand” – 5:14
  3. “The Village” – 4:37
  4. “586” – 7:31
Side two
  1. “Your Silent Face” – 6:00
  2. “Ultraviolence” – 4:52
  3. “Ecstasy” – 4:25
  4. “Leave Me Alone” – 4:40

Can’t really found any good live videos so I went with the audio only versions.



Bonus Videos:  Blue Monday + Love Will Tear Us Apart

Posted by Larry Carta

Leave a Reply

Before you post, please prove you are sentient.

what is 6 plus 3?