The Hooters “Nervous Night”

Posted 04 Sep 2011 in 80s, Albums of 1985, Albums of the 80s, Rock + Roll

Today’s Cool Album of the Day (#486 in the Series) is The Hooters, “Nervous Night.”

The Hooters are yet another band from that hotbed of music, Philadelphia. I’ve always loved the Philly sound, Todd Rundgren, Hall and Oates etc. There must be something in that water by the port.

“Nervous Night” was released in 1985 and features The Hooters ever present melodica. Hence the band name.

The two main men in The Hooters are Eric Bazilian and Rob Hyman.  They handled most of the songwriting and all lead vocals.  Eric plays guitar and Rob keys mainly.  The act is filled out by Andy King on bass, John Lilley also on guitar and David Uosikkinen on drums.

This was another Columbia Records release and received some decent support by the label. Every band would like more, but I would be surprised if The Hooters were not pleased by the push they received. I saw them on this tour as an opening act for Don Henley. This was probably the peak in Henley’s solo career as well.  He was touring to support his huge “Building the Perfect Beast” album.

This was the bands major label debut. Their first album,hooters Amore was an independent release and featured the original versions of “All You Zombies”, “Hanging on a Heartbeat” and “Blood From a Stone.” All three of those songs received reworkings on Nervous Night.

The album was produced by Rick Chertoff.  A few years earlier, Rick produced Cyndi Lauper’s, She’s So Unusual, also a Columbia release.  Cyndi and Rob Hyman also worked together in composting one of her largest hits, “Time After Time.”

The Hooters have been back together after a hiatus. Frank Smith Jr, has replaced King on bass. That’s the only member change from the band that appeared on Nervous Night.

This album peaked at #12 on the Billboard Top 200 Album chart and went double platinum.

Four singles charted.  In order of release with peak position on the Billboard Hot 100. “All You Zombies” (#58), “And We Danced” (#21), “Day By Day” (#18) and “Where Do the Children Go” (#38).  The last song also featured Scandal vocalist Patty Smyth.

— Larry CartaPlease visit and LIKE our facebook page


The Hooters

  • Eric Bazilian: lead vocals, guitars, bass, mandolin, saxophone
  • Rob Hyman: lead vocals, keyboards, melodica
  • Andy King: bass guitar, vocals
  • John Lilley: guitar
  • David Uosikkinen: drums
Addition Musicans
  • Patty Smyth – Vocals on “Where Do the Children Go”
  • Björn Ulvaeus – guitar

Track listing

  1. “And We Danced” (Rob Hyman, Eric Bazilian) – 3:48
  2. “Day by Day” (Hyman, Bazilian, Rick Chertoff) – 3:24
  3. “All You Zombies” (Hyman, Bazilian) – 5:58
  4. “Don’t Take My Car Out Tonight” (Hyman, Bazilian, Chertoff) – 3:55
  5. “Nervous Night” (Hyman, Bazilian, Chertoff) – 3:58
  6. “Hanging on a Heartbeat” (Hyman, Bazilian, Glenn Goss, Jeff Ziv) – 4:20
  7. “Where Do the Children Go” (Hyman, Bazilian) – 5:29
  8. “South Ferry Road” (Hyman, Bazilian, Chertoff) – 3:43
  9. “She Comes in Colors” (Arthur Lee) – 4:12
  10. “Blood from a Stone” (Hyman, Bazilian) – 4:13


Back to the Cool Album Home Page

Posted by Larry Carta

1 Comment

  1. Dave Gonet (24 Apr 2012, 20:17)

    Saw them open for Squeeze at Poplar Creek what would’ve been nearly 30 years ago. They rocked the place.

Leave a Reply

Before you post, please prove you are sentient.

what is 8 in addition to 2?