The Flying Burrito Brothers “The Gilded Palace of Sin”

Today’s Cool Album of the Day (#216 in the Series) is The Flying Burrito Brothers, The Gilded Palace of Sin.

I was looking at the track listing. I was trying to figure out which songs to mention first. It’s nearly an impossibility to determine one over another. This album is that good.  It should go down in the history of American music as one a ground breaking piece of music. It’s that good.

I’ve loved the solo work that Gram Parson did after leaving the band.  The work here that he created along with Chris Hillman, “Sneaky” Pete Kleinow and Chris Ethridge is unmatched in the world of Americana or country-rock.

‘Christine’s Tune (aka She’s a Devil in Disguise), Sin City, Wheels’ and the ‘burrito songs’ ‘Hot Burrito #1 +#2’ are all time classics.

Fans of ‘The Commitments’ will also recognize ‘Do Right Woman’ and ‘Dark End of the Street.’

If you’ve always heard that Gram was this great musical legend, but didn’t know why those statements were made, well check out this album.  It’s hard to believe that this was 1969. It stands up so well.

— Larry Carta

Track Listing

Side One

  1. “Christine’s Tune” (Parsons, Hillman) – 3:04
  2. “Sin City” (Parsons, Hillman) – 4:11
  3. “Do Right Woman” (Chips Moman, Dan Penn) – 3:56
  4. “Dark End Of The Street” (Chips Moman, Penn) – 3:58
  5. “My Uncle” (Parsons, Hillman) – 2:37

Side Two

  1. “Wheels” (Hillman, Parsons) – 3:04
  2. “Juanita” (Hillman, Parsons) – 2:31
  3. “Hot Burrito #1” (Ethridge, Parsons) – 3:40
  4. “Hot Burrito #2” (Ethridge, Parsons) – 3:19
  5. “Do You Know How It Feels” (Parsons, Barry Goldberg) – 2:09
  6. “Hippie Boy” (Hillman, Parsons) – 4:55


  • Gram Parsons: lead vocal, rhythm guitar, piano, organ
  • Chris Hillman: harmony and lead vocals, rhythm guitar, mandolin
  • “Sneaky” Pete Kleinow: pedal steel guitar
  • Chris Ethridge: electric bass, piano


    • Jon Corneal: drums (tracks 1, 3, 4, 5, 7)
    • Popeye Phillips: drums (tracks 8, 9, 11)
    • Eddie Hoh: drums (tracks 2, 10)
    • Sam Goldstein: drums (track 6)
    • David Crosby: backing vocals (track 3)









Posted by Larry Carta

1 Comment

  1. Phil Lucafo (08 Dec 2010, 0:10)

    One of my VERY favorite albums. This old earthquake’s gonna leave me in the poor house

Leave a Reply

Before you post, please prove you are sentient.

what is 5 plus 4?