Laurie Anderson "Big Science"

Today’s Cool Album of the Day is Laurie Anderson, “Big Science.”

I’ve always liked musicians that try and do something differently. But I loved musicians that do something differently and actually come up with good music! There IS a difference!!

Laurie Anderson can really be ‘out there’ sometimes. But she has a vision and can bring it to life. Some would refer to her as a ‘minimalist.’ Feel free if pigeonholing is your thing.

Big Science was her first release and I believe, still her most popular.
It was released in 1982 and featured the eight minute haunting track, ‘O Superman (For Massenet).’

She later went on to do some more interesting works with the likes of Peter Gabriel and Adrian Belew.

She has just released a new album on Nonesuch called “Homeland.” Feel free to pick up a copy at your local Ma + Pa record store today!


  • Laurie Anderson – vocals, vocoder, farfisa organ, percussion, Oberheim OB-Xa, sticks, violins, electronics, keyboards, handclaps, whistling, marimba
  • Roma Baran – farfisa bass, glass harmonica, sticks, handclaps, casiotone, accordion, whistling
  • Perry Hoberman – bottles and sticks, handclaps, flute, sax, piccolo, backing vocals
  • Bill Obrecht – alto sax
  • Peter Gordon – clarinet, tenor sax
  • David Van Tieghem – drums, rototoms, timpani, marimba, percussion

Track listing

  1. “From the Air” – 4:29
  2. “Big Science” – 6:14
  3. “Sweaters” – 2:18
  4. “Walking & Falling” – 2:10
  5. “Born, Never Asked” – 4:56
  6. “O Superman (For Massenet)” – 8:21
  7. “Example #22” – 2:59
  8. “Let X=X/It Tango” – 6:51 (“Let X=X” – 3:51; “It Tango” – 3:01)

Posted by Larry Carta

Leave a Reply

Before you post, please prove you are sentient.

what is 9 plus 2?