Styx "Styx"

Posted 12 Jul 2010 in 70s, Albums of 1972, Albums of the 70s, Rock + Roll

Today’s Cool Album of the Day is the debut album by “Styx.”

This release was such a HUGE deal for my friends and I. Not that it was anything ground breaking or musically more significant than other releases. This was a huge deal for mainly one reason. Styx were local lads. They were from the neighborhood, from the Parish. It was a big deal to guy that used to play ‘guitar masses’ at your church actually release something that you could toss on your turntable.

The album started with a suite called ‘Movement For the Common Man.’ It contained a small part of Aaron Copeland’s ‘Fanfare for a Common Man’ but was mainly remembered for a section where they interviewed people on the street and placed some of their comments about young people into the songs. Usually with not the intended humor!


  • John Curulewski – guitar, vocals and electronics
  • Dennis DeYoung – organ, piano, synthesizer and vocals
  • Chuck Panozzo – bass
  • John Panozzo – drums and percussion,
  • James Young – guitar, acoustic guitar and vocals

Track listing

Side One

  1. “Movement for the Common Man” – 13:11
    • “Children of the Land” (James Young)
    • “Street Collage” (John Ryan)
    • “Fanfare for the Common Man” (Aaron Copland)
    • “Mother Nature’s Matinee” (James Young, Dennis DeYoung)
  2. “Right Away” (Paul Frank) – 3:40

Side Two

  1. “What Has Come Between Us” (Mark Gaddis) – 4:53
  2. “Best Thing” (James Young, Dennis DeYoung) – 3:13
  3. “Quick Is the Beat of My Heart” (Lewis Mark) – 3:49
  4. “After You Leave Me” (George S. Clinton) – 4:00

Back to ‘Cool Album’ HOMEPAGE

This is far from being even good in quality.  But it’s the oldest, to me, known video of Styx.  Here they are doing ‘Best Thing’ in 1972.

Back to ‘Cool Album’ HOMEPAGE


Posted by Larry Carta

Leave a Reply

Before you post, please prove you are sentient.

what is 3 in addition to 6?