Uriah Heep "The Magician’s Birthday"

Posted 24 May 2010 in 70s, Albums of 1972, Albums of the 70s, Rock + Roll

In honor of their just announced show July 1st at the Beverly Art Center, Today’s Cool Album of the Day is Uriah Heep’s, “The Magician’s Birthday.”

I was going to go with “Demons and Wizards,” but that was too obvious. So I’m pulling out “The Magician’s Birthday.’

TMB contains three of my favorite songs by them. ‘Sunrise, The Magician’s Birthday’ and ‘Sweet Lorraine.’

As mentioned Uriah Heep still tours. I’m not sure how good they’ll be since David Byron, Ken Hensley are long gone. But the current band, which does feature Mick Box has been together for almost 20 years. So we’ll see. I guess the only change lately is that Russell Gilbrook has replaced Lee Kerslake behind the drums.

I guess I might go. What the heck.


Uriah Heep

  • David Byron – vocals
  • Ken Hensley – keyboards, guitars, Moog synthesizer
  • Mick Box – guitar
  • Gary Thain – bass guitar
  • Lee Kerslake – drums, percussion, kazoo

Additional Musicians

  • Brian Cole – Pedal Steel Guitar on “Tales”

Track listing

All songs written by Ken Hensley except where noted

Side 1

  1. “Sunrise” – 4:04
  2. “Spider Woman” (Mick Box, David Byron, Lee Kerslake, Gary Thain) – 2:25
  3. “Blind Eye” – 3:33
  4. “Echoes in the Dark” – 4:48
  5. “Rain” – 3:59

Side 2

  1. “Sweet Lorraine” (Box, Byron, Thain) – 4:13
  2. “Tales” – 4:09
  3. “The Magician’s Birthday” (Box, Hensley, Kerslake) – 10:19

Posted by Larry Carta

Leave a Reply

Before you post, please prove you are sentient.

what is 8 in addition to 2?