Joe Walsh “You Can’t Argue With a Sick Mind”

Today’s Cool Album of the Day (#269 in the Series) is Joe Walsh, You Can’t Argue with a Sick Mind.

How things can change in the way we look at an artist. I used to really love Joe Walsh. He was great as the leader of The James Gang, Barnstorm and then as a solo act.

Now as we know he’s in The Eagles.  Musically they’ve always been one of the most talented bands around. But something just hasn’t rang true with me since, oh.. about when Joe Walsh joined them.

But this isn’t about ‘that’ era of  Joe Walsh’s career. It’s about 1977 and before. This is really when he was really writing some of his best music.

Represented on this live album were songs like “Walk Away,” “Meadows,” “Time Out,” “Help Me Make it Through the Night” and “Turn to Stone.” (Side Note: If you haven’t heard Roy Buchanan’s version of “Turn to Stone,” you really need to find it! It’s on the You’re Not Alone album.)

You may have noticed that I did not mention’”Rocky Mountain Way.”  Well, quite frankly, I’ve been a little ‘weary’ of that track for a long, long time.

Having said that, check out the video playlist I’ve embedded below.  I was actually thinking of leaving “Rocky Mountain Way” out of the mix. Rethinking that as a little selfish, I decided to include it.  You have to check out the version I was able to find!!

I took a version from the Ringo Starr and his All Star Band’s 1992 tour.  Now this is a ‘must check out’ video. Who is the band on this video?  Drummers are Ringo and Zack Starkey.  Bass is Timothy B. Schmit. Guitars are Todd Rundgren, Dave Edmunds and Nils Lofgren. On Keyboards is Burton Cummings.  Now that, is an ensemble!

Enjoy You Can’t Argue with a Sick Mind. The best music of the best eras of Joe Walsh.

Track listing

Side One

  1. “Walk Away” (Joe Walsh) – 3:21
  2. “Meadows” (Patrick Cullie, Walsh) – 7:08
  3. “Rocky Mountain Way” (Rocke Grace, Kenny Passarelli, Joe Vitale, Walsh) – 7:40

Side Two

  1. “Time Out” (Terry Trebandt, Walsh) – 4:22
  2. “Help Me Through the Night” (Walsh) – 3:43
  3. “Turn to Stone” (Trebandt, Walsh) – 8:46


  1. Joe Walsh: Guitar, Slide Guitar, Talkbox Guitar, vocals
  2. Don Felder: Guitar, vocals
  3. Willie Weeks: Bass guitar.
  4. Jay Ferguson: Piano, vocals
  5. Dave Mason: Organ, Electric Piano
  6. Joe Vitale: Drums, Percussion, Organ, Flute, vocals
  7. Andy Newmark: Drums, Percussion
  8. Rocky Dzidzornu: Percussion

Back to ‘Cool Album’ HOMEPAGE

Posted by Larry Carta


  1. James Eves (29 Jan 2011, 2:06)

    Love This

  2. Jeff Yonker (02 Feb 2011, 14:45)

    This is a favorite album of mine, with the agreement that Rocky Mountain Way is tired. Joe seems to have lost some of his edge since joining the Eagles, but this CD is great.

  3. Jason Badgley (02 Feb 2011, 18:58)

    The early Joe Walsh stuff is awesome, especially the solo stuff (to me). Stuff like “Meadows”…he really has a great sense of melody and how to use his voice. My friends and I were all a bit surprised when he joined the Eagles, and he’s just very subdued in that band. Not bad, just subdued. I had a chance to see him with his own band about 4 -5 years ago and it was easily in the top 5 best rock shows I have ever seen, and I’ve seen nearly everyone over the years since the 70’s. Joe is one of the best rock and roll/slide guitarists out there and he can still sing really well. Plus he’s funny as hell, telling stories about how he can’t remember years at a time and stuff. The Best!

Leave a Reply

Before you post, please prove you are sentient.

what is 4 plus 2?