Robert Fripp “Exposure”

Today’s Cool Album Of the Day (#298 in the Series) Is Robert Fripp, Exposure.

Robert Fripp had a plan in the late 70s. He wanted to have three albums released as a ‘Trilogy.’ They would be related releases and would share musicians, producers, song writers, etc.  Not completely, but there would be enough overlapping to show the plan that Fripp had in his head.

Besides Sacred Songs, the second album would have been Peter Gabriel’s second solo album, or as you may know it as ‘Scratches.’  We’ll be featuring that album soon enough.

The third installment of the trilogy would be this one, Robert Fripp’s Exposure.  Daryl Hall adds some great vocals on tracks like “North Star” and “You Burn Me Up, I’m A Cigarette.”

The highlight here, however is Peter Gabriel and his fantastic, “Here Comes the Flood.” This is not the version that he placed on his disc. It’s a little different and some, me included, think it’s the best version.

So you’ve heard of “‘Frippertronics'” but aren’t sure what it is? Then listen to Exposure, you’ll know it as soon as you hear it!

— Larry Carta

Track listing

Side one

  1. “Preface”  (Robert Fripp) 1:16
  2. “You Burn Me Up I’m A Cigarette” (Daryl Hall, Robert Fripp) 2:24
  3. “Breathless” (Robert Fripp) 4:43
  4. “Disengage”  ((Peter Hamill, Joanna Walton, Robert Fripp) 2:46
  5. “North Star” (Daryl Hall, Joanna Walton, Robert Fripp) 3:06
  6. “Chicago” (Daryl Hall, Joanna Walton, Robert Fripp) 2:12
  7. “NY3” (Daryl Hall, Joanna Walton, Robert Fripp) 2:16
  8. “Mary” (Daryl Hall, Joanna Walton, Robert Fripp) 2:06

Side two

  1. “Exposure” (Peter Gabriel, Robert Fripp) 4:25
  2. “Hååden Two” (Robert Fripp) 2:53
  3. “Urban Landscape” (Robert Fripp)  2:35
  4. “I May Not Have Had Enough of Me but I’ve Had Enough of You” ( Walton, Fripp) 3:50
  5. “First Inaugural Address to the I.A.C.E. Sherborne House” (J. G. Bennett) 0:07
  6. “Water Music I” (Robert Fripp) 1:27
  7. “Here Comes the Flood” (Peter Gabriel) 4:01
  8. “Water Music II” (Robert Fripp) 4:16
  9. “Postscript” (Robert Fripp) 0:40


  • Robert Fripp — guitars, Frippertronics
  • Daryl Hall — vocals on “Preface,” “You Burn Me Up,” “North Star,” “Disengage II,” “Chicago” disc two, “New York” disc two, “Exposure” bonus track, “Mary” bonus track; piano on “You Burn Me Up” and “Chicago”
  • Terre Roche — vocals on “Mary,” “Exposure,” “I’ve Had Enough of You,” “Chicago” bonus track
  • Peter Hammill — vocals on “Disengage,” “Chicago,” “I’ve Had Enough of You,” “Disengage” bonus track, “Chicago” bonus track
  • Peter Gabriel — vocals and piano on “Here Comes the Flood;” voice on “Preface”
  • Brian Eno — synthesizer on “North Star,” “Here Comes the Flood” voice on “Preface,” “Postscript”
  • Barry Andrews — organ on “Disengage,” “NY3,” “I’ve Had Enough of You”
  • Sid McGinnis — rhythm guitar on “Exposure;” pedal steel guitar on “North Star”
  • Tony Levin — bass
  • Jerry Marotta — drums on “You Burn Me Up,” “Chicago,” “Exposure,” “Hååden Two”
  • Narada Michael Walden — drums on “Breathless,” “NY3,” “I’ve Had Enough of You”
  • Phil Collins — drums on “Disengage,” “North Star”


Back to ‘Cool Album of the Day’ Home Page

Posted by Larry Carta


  1. Barry Paul (27 Feb 2011, 14:45)

    Very cool choice. I have owned it since the day it was released.

  2. tom kraus (01 Mar 2011, 15:27)

    while i can appreciate the effort of trying something new mr fripp bringing these different and great help from these diverse artists just didn’t feel it but that’s what makes the world cool.

Leave a Reply

Before you post, please prove you are sentient.

what is 3 plus 7?