The The “Soul Mining”

Posted 03 Mar 2011 in 80s, Albums of 1983, Albums of the 80s, Dance, Pop, Techno

Today’s Cool Album of the Day (#303 in the Series) is The The, Soul Mining

Matt Johnson is to The The, what Roddy Frame is to Aztec Camera, and what Karl Wallinger is to World Party. They’re really solo careers without putting their names up front.  In each of these cases, our star surrounds himself with different sidemen for each studio recording.

Soul Mining was The The’s second most popular album. I think Mind Bomb edged it out for number one.  This one featured their hit ‘This is the Day.” You’ve heard it. If not, listen to it within the playlist below.

As mentioned on a few of the comments on facebook, make sure you check out Jools Holland’s great piano solo on “Uncertain Smile.”

Track listing

Side one

  1. “I’ve Been Waiting for Tomorrow (All of My Life)” – 5:45
  2. “This is the Day” – 5:00
  3. “The Sinking Feeling” – 3:43
  4. “Uncertain Smile” – 6:53

Side two

  1. “The Twilight Hour” – 5:57
  2. “Soul Mining” – 4:50
  3. “Giant” – 9:34


  • Matt Johnson – vocals, keyboards, percussion, loops
  • Anne Stephenson – violin
  • Martin McCarrick – cello
  • Paul Boyle – fiddle
  • Jools Holland – piano
  • Thomas Leer – synthesizer
  • Jeremy Meek – bass guitar
  • Camelle G. Hinds – bass guitar
  • Andy Duncan – drums
  • Zeke Manyika – drums
  • Jim Thirlwell – sticks and tins


Back to Cool Album Home Page

Posted by Larry Carta

Leave a Reply

Before you post, please prove you are sentient.

what is 4 plus 6?