Ryan Adams and The Cardinals “Cold Roses”

Today’s Cool Album of the Day (#305 in the Series) is Ryan Adams and The Cardinals, Cold Roses.

I’ve always appreciated artists that know the history of their roots and are not afraid to pay homage to them as well. This is the case with Ryan Adams. I’ve read more than once about his love for artists like Gram Parsons. His previous band, Whiskeytown were known for adding more than one Gram tune to their set lists.  They even performed Gram’s, “A Song For You” on a tribute album.

He’s also mentioned acts like Tom T. Hall, and Big Star as adding to his roots.  How well respected is Ryan Adams?  Well enough to have Willie Nelson ask him to produce his album Songbird. The Cardinals were the backup band on it as well. I’m just going to stop there. Case closed!

Ryan Adams has become one of his generation’s most prolific songwriters as well. This was a double album and he was able to still release another disc shortly after.  I’ve been able to find nearly all the songs from this album for the playlist below. Some great live versions there as well. So please give them a listen!

Cold Roses, Ryan Adams first album with the Cardinals peaked at #26 on the Top 200 Billboard Album chart.

The single “Let it Ride” peaked at #78 on the Hot 100 Singles chart.


Track listing

All songs written and composed by Adams, Bowersock, Cashdollar, Pemberton and Popper.

Disc one

  1. “Magnolia Mountain” 5:53
  2. “Sweet Illusions”  5:02
  3. “Meadowlake Street” 4:29
  4. “When Will You Come Back Home” 4:52
  5. “Beautiful Sorta” 3:01
  6. “Now That You’re Gone” 3:52
  7. “Cherry Lane” 4:32
  8. “Mockingbird”  4:47
  9. “How Do You Keep Love Alive” 3:12

Disc two

  1. “Easy Plateau”  5:12
  2. “Let It Ride”  3:24
  3. “Rosebud”  2:56
  4. “Cold Roses” 4:36
  5. “If I Am a Stranger” 4:39
  6. “Dance All Night” 3:15
  7. “Blossom” 3:15
  8. “Life Is Beautiful”  4:29
  9. “Friends” 4:45


  • Ryan Adams – Vocals, acoustic and electric guitar, harmonica, piano
  • J.P. Bowersock – Electric guitar
  • Cindy Cashdollar – Steel guitar, resonator guitar, vocals
  • Brad Pemberton – Drums, vocals
  • Catherine Popper – Bass guitar, vocals, piano
  • Rachael Yamagata – Vocals and piano on “Let It Ride”, “Cold Roses” and “Friends”


Back to Cool Album Home Page

Posted by Larry Carta

Leave a Reply

Before you post, please prove you are sentient.

what is 6 + 3?