Orange Juice “You Can’t Hide Your Love Forever”

Today’s Cool Album of the Day (#316 in the Series) is Orange Juice, You Can’t Hide Your Love Forever

It’s impossible to write anything about Orange Juice without first mentioning Postcard Records.Founded by Alan Horne and operated from his bedroom , Postcard was a tiny independent label which went on to have massive influence. It was also the label which released the debut singles by Aztec Camera, The Go – Betweens, Josef K and, trailblazing the labels tongue-in-cheek motto “The Sound Of Young Scotland”, with four seminal 7′ releases , Orange Juice.

Orange Juice quickly outgrew the label and moved on to Polydor Records, heading straight into the studio to start work on their debut album.

When it finally emerged, in early 1982, You Can’t Hide Your Love Forever was a little beauty of a record. A sparkling pure pop creation that quickly wormed its way into many hearts. Chiming guitars that stray out of tune on a whim, a lead singer straining to reach the high notes and a rhythm section that seems at times to be playing three different tunes at the same time, it really shouldn’t have worked but of course it did, in glorious fashion!

There’s a kind of ramshackle, naive charm which hangs over the whole record, it sounds as if the full thing’s going to fall apart at any moment. It’s an effervescent confection, gloriously upbeat and shot through with a charming wit and air of doomed romance and it sounded like absolutely nothing that had come before.

The album’s influence was huge, seemingly every upcoming musician in Glasgow loved it and the ethos and sound of Postcard/Orange Juice was soon storming the UK charts, albeit in a slightly watered down but better produced version, via bands like Altered Images, The Bluebells and Haircut 100 most of whom sold far more records than Orange Juice ever did. The mid-Eighties “C-86” movement was also heavily indebted to the album as well as more up to date artists such as Belle & Sebastien and The Drums.

Recently reissued in its entirety on the “Coals To Newcastle” box set and should also be available via iTunes and Amazon as downloads , it’s an absolutely perfect creation which deserves to be much more than a lost classic……..

— Stephen Dalrymple, Glasgow, Scotland

Track Listing

Side One

  1. Falling And Laughing
  2. Untitled Melody
  3. Wan Light
  4. Tender Object
  5. Dying Day
  6. L.O.V.E. Love

Side Two

  1. Intuition Told Me Part One
  2. Upwards And Onwards
  3. Satellite City
  4. Three Cheers For Our Side
  5. Consolation Prize
  6. Felicity
  7. In a Nutshell


  • Edwyn Collins – vocals , guitar
  • James Kirk – vocals , guitar
  • David McClymont – bass
  • Steven Daly – drums, percussion

See more albums from that GREAT musical year, 1982

Back to the “Cool Album of the Day” Homepage


Posted by Stephen Dalrymple
I was so much older then , i'm younger than that now.........


  1. coachmaddog (17 Mar 2011, 20:21)

    You’re back on track. The innocence of these guys was so great. Long live Edwyn Collins!

  2. Larry Carta (18 Mar 2011, 12:10)

    Thanks oh so much. BTW, we were never “Off Track.”

  3. Stephen (18 Mar 2011, 14:19)

    Hahahah ! Well said coachmaddog ! And you Larry !

Leave a Reply

Before you post, please prove you are sentient.

what is 5 plus 3?