Starcastle "Starcastle"

Posted 02 Aug 2010 in 70s, Albums of 1976, Albums of the 70s, Prog-Rock

Today’s “Cool Album of the Day” is the debut, self titled album by, “Starcastle.”

Starcastle was a prog-rock band mostly based out of Champaign, Illinois. Their stylings leaned heavily towards the sound of ‘Yes.’ If you’re a fan of ‘Yes,’ you should check out this album. I think you’d like it.

This was released in 1976 on Epic Records. I’m not sure if their impact reached much out of the Midwest. They did get a little more of a bump nationally with their 2nd and 3rd albums ‘Fountains of Light’ and ‘Citadel.’

‘Starcastle’ contains their epic song, ‘Lady of the Lake.’ 10 minutes in length with a few different chapters. I’ll post a link below. As I mentioned, ‘Yes’ fans, check it out.

Every song is a keeper here. No filler tracks as far as I’m concerned.

Terry Luttrell was Starcastle’s lead vocalist. He was the original lead singer in REO Speedwagon (at least on their albums) but was replaced by Kevin Cronin.

Steve Hagler should also be noted for his guitar work.

“Starcastle” peaked at #95 on the Billboard Top 200 Album charts.

Track listing

All songs written by Starcastle

Side 1

  1. “Lady Of The Lake” – 10:26
  2. “Elliptical Seasons” – 4:26
  3. “Forces” – 6:24

Side 2

  1. “Stargate” – 2:54
  2. “Sunfield” – 7:35
  3. “To The Fire Wind” – 5:15
  4. “Nova” – 2:35



  • Terry Luttrell – Lead vocals
  • Stephen Hagler – Guitar, piano, Electric piano, vocals
  • Matthew Stewart – Guitar, slide guitar, electric sitar, vocals
  • Herb Schildt – Organ, synthesizers, electric piano
  • Gary Strater – Bass guitar, clavinet, vocals
  • Stephen Tassler – Drums, percussion, vocals

Posted by Larry Carta

Leave a Reply

Before you post, please prove you are sentient.

what is 3 in addition to 4?