The Notorious Cherry Bombs “The Notorious Cherry Bombs”


Today’s Cool Album of the day (#581 in the Series) is the self titled album by, The Notorious Cherry Bombs.

OK, who knows who these guys are?   I’ll explain.

Rodney Crowell was an original member of EmmyLou Harris’ Hot Band in the 70s.  Gaining notoriety there, he decided to act on a solo career and began forming his own band.  It wasn’t known at the time, but he put together of band of players that would become some of the most well known players (within the industry, not really house hold names except for one) in country, country rock and even rock in roll.

Vince Gill was brought in play just about every string instrument. He added Mandolin, guitar, electric guitar, violin, banjo, dobro and on and on. Hank DeVito would play on everyone’s record and write a ton of hits. Richard Bennett would play guitar in Mark Knopfler’s band for years. He still does. Emory Gordy, Jr. and Glen Hardin filled out the lineup.

After 30 years, Rodney decided to ‘Put The Band Back Together!’  This album was the result. It had a  couple great rock and roll tracks included “Let it Roll,” ” Let it Ride” and “Sweet Little Lisa.”  “Lisa” has been covered by everyone including Albert Lee and Dave Edmunds.

There are a few superb ballads such as “Making Memories of Us” and “Heart of a Jealous Man.”

One song however was the one that got the airplay.  How this wasn’t a HUGE country hit I’ll never know.  It’s called “It’s Hard to Kiss the Lips at Night that Chew Your Ass Out All Day Long.”  What a track.  A must hear.  Last night I watching a Lewis Black stand up DVD and even he was talking about it!

The Notorious Cherry Bombs was released in 2004. It reached #135 on the Billboard Top 200 Album Charts and #23 on the Country Album Charts.

— Larry Carta 


  • Eddie Bayers – drums, percussion, background vocals
  • Richard Bennett – acoustic guitar, electric guitar, bouzouki, cavaquinho, bass guitar
  • Rodney Crowell – acoustic guitar, steel guitar, lead vocals, background vocals
  • Hank DeVito – acoustic guitar, steel guitar, Dobro, background vocals
  • Vince Gill – acoustic guitar, electric guitar, mandolin, banjo, Dobro, lead vocals, background vocals
  • John Hobbs – piano, keyboard, organ, background vocals
  • Michael Rhodes – bass guitar, background vocals

Track listing

  1. “Let It Roll, Let It Ride” (Crowell, Gill) – 3:53
  2. “If I Ever Break Your Heart” (Crowell) – 3:25
  3. “Wait a Minute” (Crowell, Hank DeVito) – 2:49
  4. “Making Memories of Us” (Crowell) – 4:05
  5. “Oklahoma Dust” (Gill, Leslie Satcher) – 2:35
  6. “Dangerous Curves” (Crowell, Gill) – 4:21
  7. “Forever Someday” (Gill) – 3:32
  8. “On the Road to Ruin” (Crowell) – 3:27
  9. “Heart of a Jealous Man” (Gill, Max D. Barnes) – 4:02
  10. “It’s Hard to Kiss the Lips at Night That Chew Your Ass Out All Day Long” (Crowell, Gill) – 4:24
  11. “Sweet Little Lisa” (DeVito, Donivan Cowart, Walter Cowart) – 2:44
  12. “Let It Roll, Let It Ride” (reprise) (Crowell, Gill) – 7:09A

Here’s the songs from the album that I was able to find of YouTube. Below that playlist you’ll see a couple bonus videos. They’re two live versions of “Sweet Little Lisa”. One by Albert Lee, the other by Dave Edmunds featuring Albert Lee.

Bonus Videos

Posted by Larry Carta

1 Comment

  1. Emily (29 Dec 2011, 9:00)

    Well, that was fun

Leave a Reply

Before you post, please prove you are sentient.

what is 3 plus 4?