Daryl Hall ‘Sacred Songs’


Today’s Cool Album of the Day  (#1026 in the Series) is Daryl Hall, Sacred Songs.

This is one of the main reasons that I’ve decided to create this site. That is to point out ditties like this. I have a feeling that many people did not know this gem existed.

It’s the first solo release by Daryl Hall of “Hall and Oates” fame. I don’t know if DH is the best rock vocalist of all time, but he’s in the team picture.

This was recorded in 1977 but not released until 1980. The wonderful RCA records held the album because is was ‘not commercial enough.’ I guess ‘very good’ just isn’t a good enough reason for a label to release something. I think it was just too different for their brain trust and they didn’t know what to do with it.

The original plan was to put this on the market as part of a what Fripp was calling a “musical trilogy” that included two other releases. The first was Peter Gabriel’s 2nd album (The one with the scratching on the cover), Daryl Hall was part two. The final piece of the trilogy was Robert Fripp’s Exposure. Fripp played and produced all three. Hall sang on Fripp’s. Hall co-wrote a song on Gabriel’s etc etc. It was quite the interesting project.

It had some really spectacular moments on it. The most accessible song was probably “Gotta Have Something in 4/4 Time.” “Babs and Babs” was another one good one, be sure you listen for Fripp’s solo in it. “Without Tears” is about as powerful a vocal performance you’ll ever hear.

Some cool guests on the album too. Phil Collins and Jerry Marotta add drums. Sid McGinnis played with Gabriel around this time is on guitar. Sid had been part of Paul Shaffer’s band for years. Brain Eno and Tony Levin are here as well.

For years it was pretty hard to find as it was out of print for years.  Luckily things have changed and you can get it now. So get it.

— Larry Carta

Track listing

All songs written by Daryl Hall except as noted.

 Side One

  1. “Sacred Songs” – 3:14
  2. “Something in 4/4 Time” – 4:22
  3. “Babs and Babs” – 7:41
  4. “Urban Landscape” (Robert Fripp) – 2:29
  5. “NYCNY” (Fripp, Hall) – 4:33

 Side Two

  1.  “The Farther Away I Am” – 2:52
  2. “Why Was It So Easy” – 5:27
  3. “Don’t Leave Me Alone with Her” – 6:22
  4. “Survive” – 6:37
  5. “Without Tears” – 2:47

Bonus tracks

  1. “You Burn Me up I’m a Cigarette” (Fripp, Hall) – 2:20
  2. “North Star” (Fripp, Hall, Joanna Walton) – 3:10


  • Daryl Hall – vocals, keyboards, synthesizer, Mandar
  • Robert Fripp – guitar, electronics
  • Roger Pope – drums
  • Kenny Passarelli – bass guitar
  • Caleb Quaye – guitar

 Additional personnel

  • Charles DeChant – saxophone, backing vocals on “Something in 4/4 Time”
  • David Kent – backing vocals on “Something in 4/4 Time”
  • Brian Eno – synthesizer on “North Star”
  • Phil Collins – drums on “North Star”
  • Tony Levin – bass on “North Star” and “You Burn Me Up I’m A Cigarette”
  • Jerry Marotta – Drums on “You Burn Me Up I’m A Cigarette”
  • Sid McGinnis — pedal steel guitar on “North Star”

Give it a listen below

Daryl performs Babs and Babs in a episode of ‘Live From Daryl’s House’ with Guster.

Here’s “Why Was it So Easy” from another Episode

“North Star” from yet another.

Posted by Larry Carta

1 Comment

  1. Emily (12 Oct 2012, 10:08)

    I own this on vinyl and CD. I can really see how brilliant it is. However, when I’m in the mood for some Daryl Hall solo stuff, this really isn’t the one I reach for. Daryl Hall’s best solo CD is a very hard to find Live In Philadelphia CD.

Leave a Reply

Before you post, please prove you are sentient.

what is 4 in addition to 7?