Alexi Murdoch ‘Time Without Consequence’


Today’s Cool Album of the Day (#787 in the Series) is Alexi Murdoch, Time Without Consequence.

Alexi Murdoch is a perfect example of the new paradigm music industry success story. He released a self produced EP Four Songs in 2002 on, sold over 50,000 via download (CDbaby’s all time best seller) and started his own record label, Zero Summer. Time Without Consequence, released in 2006, is his first full album and includes three of the Four Songs from his start up EP. He’s been able to achieve international acclaim while turning down numerous offers from major record labels.

Alexi’s voice is reminiscent of Nick Drake. He has the kind of control of his acoustic guitar that reminds me of Stephen Stills, right down to the alternate tunings. That’s where the comparisons end. Alexi is a singer/song writer whose unique style has been in high demand.

Songs from this album have appeared on TV in The O.C., House, Prison Break, Ugly Betty, Dirty Sexy Money, Grey’s Anatomy, Scrubs, Without a Trace, Stargate Universe, Everwood, Brothers & Sisters, One Tree Hill and Southland and in the films; Ladder 49, Garden State, Paradise Now, The Sharp End and Tenderness.

All this mileage he’s getting from these songs in the media may explain why his tours have been few and far between. His 2010 tour includes only five dates. The music industry has definitely changed in the new millennium.

— James Eves

Track listing

  1. “All My Days” – 4:57
  2. “Breathe” – 4:17
  3. “Home” – 5:50
  4. “Song For You”* – 4:38
  5. “Dream About Flying” – 4:50
  6. “Wait” – 5:57
  7. “Love You More” – 2:36
  8. “Blue Mind”* – 5:43
  9. “Shine” – 7:46
  10. “12” – 6:50
  11. “Orange Sky”* – 6:11


  • Alexi Murdoch – Organ, Slide Guitar, Keyboards, Piano, Bass, Guitar
  • Al Sgro – Drums, Vocals (Background)
  • Brett Simons – Bass, Bass (Electric), Double Bass
  • Pete Thomas – Tom-Tom
  • Jay Bellerose – Percussion, Drums, Tambourine
  • Joel Shearer – Guitar, Vocals (Background), Shaker, Engineer
  • Ben Peeler – Lap Steel Guitar
  • Oliver Kraus – Cello
  • Chris Chaney – Bass
  • Ramy Antoun – Drums
  • Zac Rae – Keyboards, Vibraphone
  • Jason McKenzie – Tabla
  • Jim Keltner – Drums
  • Sophie Barker – Vocals (Background)
  • Deron Johnson – Fender Rhodes
  • Greg Leisz – Guitar, Pedal Steel
  • Marvin Etzioni – Mandolin
Check it out below….

Posted by e3

Leave a Reply

Before you post, please prove you are sentient.

what is 4 plus 2?