Otis Redding “The Dock of the Bay”

Today’s Cool Album of the Day (#252 in the Series) is Otis Redding, The Dock of the Bay.

I’ve felt that I’ve neglected the “Soul/R + B” genre for some time.  I’d really like to add more to this area.  I looked into a few albums I considered and while doing so, I stumbled upon a historical fact that I did not know. I’m guessing many of you did, but I’m almost ashamed to admit that I did not.

I was not aware that Otis Redding recorded his masterpiece, “(Sitting on) The Dock of the Bay” only three days before he lost his life. In fact, the song was not even considered the finished product. Otis had not written the lyrics for the final verse. That is why he whistled them as a placeholder. How history can be different by just hours and days.

If you hadn’t listened to “(Sittin’ on) The Dock of the Bay” in a while, please check it out below. Otis and guitarist Steve Cropper wrote a marvelous song. What an amazing vocal performance and arrangement as well.

Otis Redding’s inspiration was far reaching.  Years ago I read Peter Gabriel’s biography.  He was schooled at a very exclusive institution called Charterhouse.  One chapter described how he would sneak out of the school, climbing fences and all and attend Otis Redding concerts.

Otis Redding, Dock of the Bay was of course released posthumously. It reached #3 on the Billboard Top 200 album chart and  #1 on the R+B chart.

In order of release…”Glory of Love” reached #60 on the Hot 100 Singles chart, “I Love You More Than Words Can Say,” #78, ‘Tramp’ #26 and ‘(Sitting on) The Dock of the Bay,’ #1.

Two Grammy Awards were won. They were both ‘Song’ awards for the title cut.  Otis won for Best Male R&B Vocal Performance while Otis and Steve Cropper won songwriting awards.

Otis Redding was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1989.

I’ve found some videos and placed them into a playlist below.  Make sure you give ‘em a listen.

— Larry Carta 

Track Listing

Side One

  1. “(Sittin’ On) The Dock of the Bay”  – Steve Cropper, Otis Redding – 2:38
  2. “I Love You More Than Words Can Say” – Eddie Floyd, Booker T. Jones – 2:50
  3. “Let Me Come on Home” – Al Jackson, Jr, Jones, Redding – 2:53
  4. “Open the Door”  – Redding – 2:21
  5. “Don’t Mess with Cupid” – Cropper, Floyd, Deanie Parker – 2:28

Side Two

  1. “The Glory of Love” – Billy Hill 2:38
  2. “I’m Coming Home to See About You” –  Redding 3:03
  3. “Tramp” – Lowell Fulson, Jimmy McCracklin 2:32
  4. “The Hucklebuck” – Roy Alfred, Andy Gibson 2:58
  5. “Nobody Knows You When You’re Down and Out” -Jimmy Cox 3:10
  6. “Ole Man Trouble”  –  Redding


  • Otis Redding – Vocals
  • Joe Arnold – Sax (Tenor)

    Booker T, Steve Cropper and Carla Thomas c 1967

  • Charles “Packy” Axton – Sax (Tenor)
  • Sammie Coleman -Trumpet
  • Steve Cropper – Guitar, Producer
  • Donald “Duck” Dunn -Bass
  • Isaac Hayes -Keyboards
  • Al Jackson, Jr. –  Drums
  • Wayne Jackson – Trumpet
  • Booker T. Jones  – Keyboards
  • Andrew Love -Sax (Tenor)
  • Gene Miller -Trumpet
  • Floyd Newman – Sax (Baritone)
  • Carla Thomas – Vocals

See other Soul/R+B albums we’ve featured

See other Rock + Roll Hall of Famers we’ve featured

Back to ‘Cool Album’ HOMEPAGE

Posted by Larry Carta

Leave a Reply

Before you post, please prove you are sentient.

what is 4 in addition to 3?