Thin Lizzy “Live and Dangerous”

Today’s Cool Album of the Day (#283 in the Series and #19 in the Live, Saturday Night Series) is Thin Lizzy, Live and Dangerous.

I was so into Thin Lizzy in the mid-seventies.  We here in Chicago remember the days back in 1975 when they were considered the ‘house band’ on WXRT. Keep in mind that this was during the Fighting era. Most of the country didn’t catch on until a year or so later when Jailbreak hit.  They were at least four songs deep on that Fightin’ album.  It’s always fun to on a band when most people don’t know who in the hell they are!

One of the things that I always liked about Thin Lizzy was that their music didn’t deteriorate as their popularity grew. (Do you hear me Neal Schon and Gregg Rolie?)

It was really hard for me to find some nice clean versions of these songs for the video playlist.

In honor of the late Gary Moore I’ve included the video of his version of ‘Don’t Believe a Word.’ R.I.P Gary.

A couple of tidbits here.  If you look at the personnel list below you’ll see John Earle and Huey Lewis. Supporting Thin Lizzy on this tour was Graham Parker and the Rumor and also Clover. Earle played sax for Graham Parker and Huey Lewis fronted and played harp for Clover.  That’s how they ended up on the album. I think we know the story about how Clover was the back up band for Elvis Costello on his debut.

— Larry Carta

Track listing

  1. “Jailbreak” (Phil Lynott) – 4:31
  2. “Emerald” (Brian Downey, Scott Gorham, Lynott, Brian Robertson) – 4:18
  3. “Southbound” (Lynott) – 4:44
  4. “Rosalie/Cowgirl’s Song” (Downey, Lynott, Bob Seger) – 4:00
  5. “Dancing in the Moonlight (It’s Caught Me in Its Spotlight)” (Lynott) – 3:50
  6. “Massacre” (Downey, Gorham, Lynott) – 2:46
  7. “Still in Love With You” (Lynott) – 7:40
  8. “Johnny the Fox Meets Jimmy the Weed” (Downey, Gorham, Lynott) – 3:32
  9. “Cowboy Song” (Downey, Lynott) – 4:40
  10. “The Boys Are Back in Town” (Lynott) – 4:30
  11. “Don’t Believe a Word” (Lynott) – 2:05
  12. “Warriors” (Gorham, Lynott) – 3:52
  13. “Are You Ready” (Downey, Gorham, Lynott, Robertson) – 2:40
  14. “Suicide” (Lynott) – 5:00
  15. “Sha La La” (Downey, Lynott) – 4:18
  16. “Baby Drives Me Crazy” (Downey, Gorham, Lynott, Robertson) – 6:36
  17. “The Rocker” (Eric Bell, Downey, Lynott) – 3:58


  • Brian Downey – drums, percussion
  • Scott Gorham – lead guitar, backing vocals
  • Phil Lynott – bass guitar, lead vocals
  • Brian Robertson – lead guitar, backing vocals


  • John Earle – saxophone on “Dancing in the Moonlight”
  • Huey Lewis – harmonica on “Baby Drives Me Crazy”


Back to ‘Cool Album’ HOMEPAGE

Here are some cool LIVE albums that you should read about! 

[jcarousel source=”cat=923″ link=”permalink” size=”100×100″ limit=”100″ items=”4″ speed=”400″ margin=”10″]

Posted by Larry Carta

Leave a Reply

Before you post, please prove you are sentient.

what is 4 plus 2?