Queen “Sheer Heart Attack”

Today’s Cool Album of the Day (#289 in the Series) is Queen, Sheer Heart Attack.

Well, I guess it’s time we get to Queen. Sometimes it’s a hard task to find an act that were ‘huge’ sellers but also can remain high on the ‘cool’ rating!

Queen, Sheer Heart Attack was indeed a successful release. But it wasn’t one of the mega albums that they recorded. Those would come in the next two with Night at the Opera and Day at the Races.

This was no slouch, don’t get me wrong. It included a few of the classic Queen tracks, ‘Killer Queen’ and ‘Now I’m Here.’  ‘Killer Queen’ was the bands first international hit.  It was one of the first songs that Freddie Mercury wrote the lyrics before the music.  They actually recorded it while Brian May was ill. He had to ad all his parts after the rest of the band had recorded theirs.

May wrote the second single during that illness. It’s based upon his touring with Mott The Hoople.

Sheer Heart Attack peaked at #12 on the Billboard Top 200 Album chart.

NEWS: Look for a reissue coming next month (March, 2011) It will include five additional tracks. Live versions of ‘Flick of the Wrist, Tenement Funster, Now I’m Here, In the Lap of the Gods’ … Revisited and an a cappella version of ‘Bring Back That Leroy Brown.’

They toured extensively for this album. Various opening acts included Kansas, Mahogany Rush, Al Stewart, REO Speedwagon, Brownsville Station, Argent and Styx. Ticket prices were anywhere form $5 to $8 here in the States.  Big thanks to QueenConcerts.com for tour info and pics below.

In the playlist below I’ve included many of the live versions of many of the tracks. Enjoy!

Track listing

Side one

  1. “Brighton Rock”

    'Killer Queen' 45 Sleeve

  2. “Killer Queen”
  3. “Tenement Funster”
  4. “Flick of the Wrist”
  5. “Lily of the Valley”
  6. “Now I’m Here”

Side two

  1. “In the Lap of the Gods”
  2. “Stone Cold Crazy”
  3. “Dear Friends”
  4. “Misfire”
  5. “Bring Back That Leroy Brown”
  6. “She Makes Me (Stormtrooper in Stilettoes)”
  7. “In the Lap of the Gods… Revisited”


  • Freddie Mercury: Vocals, Piano, Jangle Piano
  • Brian May: Guitars, Vocals, Piano, Ukulele, Banjo, Lead Vocal on “She Makes Me”
  • Roger Taylor: Drums, Percussion, Vocals, Lead Vocal on “Tenement Funster”, Screams on “In The Lap of The Gods”
  • John Deacon: Bass Guitars, Acoustic Guitars, Rhythm Guitar, Electric Guitar, All guitars on “Misfire”, Double-bass on “Bring back that Leroy Brown”


Back to ‘Cool Album’ HOMEPAGE


Posted by Larry Carta

Leave a Reply

Before you post, please prove you are sentient.

what is 3 + 2?